I Do Declare! – Bout of Books 10.0 Sign-Up & Goals

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.
Yes, we are doing it again.  Though I’m going to tell you we know that chance of completing everything right now isn’t very high since we both have A LOT going on outside of the blog right now.  I think we are both trying to give ourselves more options and not pigeonhole ourselves into reading just 2-3 specific books and other actual goals for this bout.
First up:
kiki
I’ve been debating on what to read for this bout.  Obviously from the amount of books listed there isn’t anyway I’m going to finish everything but my goal is to read at least three (3) books and write/schedule the reviews.  Bonus points to myself if I can read four or more.  Without further delay here is my current bout list, though as always it is subject to change.
Older titles for review:
The Bone Season Samantha Shannon(finished copy for review)
The Grim Company by Luke Scull (finished copy for review)
Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson (egalley via Netgalley, physical ARC, borrowing audio from library) – I have an ARC but I want to try to listen to the audio on this one to maximize my reading time.
Newer titles for review:
The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes (e-galley via Edelweiss)
Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott (e-galley via Netgalley & physical ARC)
Lady Thief by A.C. Gaughen (e-galley via Netgalley)
Plus One by Elizabeth Fama (e-galley via Netgalley & physical ARC)
Take Back the Skies by Lucy Saxon (physical ARC)
Just Because –
A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin (own, physical copy) – Frankly I’m tired of looking at this brick on my shelf and I should have read it last year when I was participating in the read-along.  Also, the fact that the show is jumping all around and making things up I want to be ahead of the game. (Game, HAHA)  Chances of geting to this one during the bout are slim I admit that but I’m adding it all the same.
~*~
daph
So, I am not going to list the books I want to read because I am very likely to change what it is I want to read, but I will be less specific:
1.  Read 2 review books
2.  Read 1 library book
3.  Begin To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han for the Goodreads Read-along (which begins on May 15th through June 7th)
4.  Participate in at least one twitter chat
5.  Participate in at least 2 challenges
6.  Write reviews for all books
I think this is a little ambitious and I’m fully expecting to fail with the amount of books, but go big or go home, amiright?
~*~
Well I think that is it for now, can’t wait to see what everyone else is reading and chat.  See you guys on the 12th!
K&D
4 thoughts on “I Do Declare! – Bout of Books 10.0 Sign-Up & Goals

  1. Hannah May 5, 2014 at 9:00 am Reply

    I hope you both manage to achieve your goals and above all else, have a lot of fun

  2. Candice May 5, 2014 at 9:28 am Reply

    Hooray! I’m excited about participating next week. Also, Kristina… I think (I really really hope) you like The Bone Season. It’s a little different but I loved it! And Daphne, love your attitude! Go big or go home, love it! 🙂

  3. Playing Jokers May 5, 2014 at 5:24 pm Reply

    Thanks for the reminder! I signed up but I have been sooo bad at blogging and remembering blogging commitments! Good luck on your goals!

  4. Mel@thedailyprophecy May 10, 2014 at 7:33 am Reply

    Kristina: The bone season is good and I really recommend Lady Thief. It was fantastic! Be prepared though. Heartbreaking too. I’ve heard good things about The art of Lainey and Plus one.

    Good luck with your goals girls :D! And happy reading.
    Mel@thedailyprophecy

Leave a Reply

