Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

fireTime is slipping away….

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

SOURCE:  egalley via Netgalley/publisher & physical ARC (won)

Story Breakdown:

After Tella’s family realizes they won’t be able to find the cure for her brother they move to remote America with no tv and internet access to spend out the last of his days in a peaceful state of mind.  Thinking it is just another normal day Tella receives a gift that turns out to have a higher price tag than she would have ever thought.

Character Highlights:

Tella –  She was a tough cookie to crack.  I loved her one page and wanted to slap her the next but admittedly her lack of knowledge wasn’t really her fault but you have to blame someone!

Guy – Nothing like a love interest to go from serial killer suspect to the love of your life in one chapter!  J/K  I’m all about the strong and silent types.  RAWR.

Basically the entire set of secondary characters – I can’t tell you the last time I read a book that I felt so invested in the supporting characters.  Great job Ms. Scott!!

Overall Thoughts:

This was a very different book.  It pulled elements from several series & genres I like as well as included fun additions (the Pandoras) that I LOVED.  (I may have been singing “What does the fox say?” for most of the book in my head.)  I enjoyed the climate/location changes that kept things interesting and IMO keeps the reader on their toes and made you constantly think about what was going to happen next.  I’m excited to see where the story goes next.

 

3.75/5

kiki

 

4 thoughts on “Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

  1. Candice May 19, 2014 at 11:01 am Reply

    Ha… thanks for getting the fox song stuck in my head now! I’ve got a copy of this one but haven’t picked it up. Probably need to! Glad it was enjoyable!

    • Kristina May 19, 2014 at 11:19 am Reply

      HAHA. You will so want a pet fox after reading!

  2. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert May 23, 2014 at 12:07 pm Reply

    I felt the same way about Tella, she cracked me up but girl needs to learn a thing or two about survival.

    Your description for Guy – LOL

    I LOVE MADOX (and now I have that song in my head).

    Basically, I agree – this book was fun and unpredictable. I’m looking forward to the next one!

    • Kristina May 23, 2014 at 1:01 pm Reply

      😛

Leave a Reply

