That’s What They Said: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

TWTS landline

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point. Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her. When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything. That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . . Is that what she’s supposed to do? Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

SOURCE:  ARCs via publisher (THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!)

MEMORABLE TEXTS:

landline

OVERALL THOUGHTS:

To date every single one of Rainbow’s books have given me the same feelings.  It doesn’t matter the content, the stories have the same effect on me.  The best way to describe it would be you know that feeling you get when reading a book or watching a movie and the meet-cute happens?  THAT. That feeling THE ENTIRE BOOK.  SIGH.  Landline was a great read and in my opinion gave us a realistic peek through the window at a modern-day love story that needs a little work.  But really is anything worth it if you don’t have to work for it a bit?

4.5/5

kiki

OVERALL THOUGHTS:

First of all, it’s a Rainbow Rowell book, so you know that it’s going to be good.  This is a story about a marriage on the brink, a love story about a married couple.  These kinds of books rarely interest me because I want to read about the characters falling in love, not stagnating and on the verge of falling apart, only to be saved at the last-minute.  What Rowell does here with these characters, though, is shows us how much we take each other for granted.  Love is easy, but life is sometimes harder and more work than we are willing to put in.  A lot of time, it seems easier to just give up and start over.  Georgie’s love for her husband was a live thing.  This is an enjoyable story with likeable characters.  I really loved the flashbacks.  I think this book kind of defies a label because it’s an adult book, but not reallllly a romance, not reallllly chick lit, not realllly “literary fiction.” I think it should be required reading for married people because we can all learn the lessons that Georgie is being taught.  These are honest emotions and it feels true to me.  It’s not Eleanor and Park, but so few books are.  Which is not to say that I didn’t love it.

4.25/5

daph

7 thoughts on “That’s What They Said: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. loveatfirstpage June 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm Reply

    Daphne, I’m with you – Landline is so totally not my type of book. I don’t want to read about a crumbling marriage! I read for pleasure and to escape. I need my happy endings! But it’s Rainbow Rowell, so I know not to miss out. Very happy both of you all loved it! I like how you describe it as a meet-cute, Kristina, because it’s pretty much spot on to my feelings while reading Fangirl! Her writing is just so unique and wonderful and brilliant.

  2. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook June 10, 2014 at 9:28 pm Reply

    I’m reading this right now, and really enjoying it. It’s not a book I would have normally gravitated towards, but since Rainbow Rowell wrote it, I knew I had to read it. I also love the flashbacks.

    • Gone Pecan June 11, 2014 at 9:27 am Reply

      I think Rainbow is now a staple for a lot of us! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. We Heart YA June 11, 2014 at 8:51 am Reply

    Yaaay so glad to hear it was good! It’s Rainbow, so we weren’t really worried, but you never know. 😛

  4. […] Landline by Rainbow Rowell                                                        Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas […]

Leave a Reply

