Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

rrThe capital has fallen. The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

SOURCE:  purchased (special B & N edition)

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:  Shadow & Bone, Siege & Storm

SPOILER WARNING:  This is the 3rd book in the series so though I think I didn’t reveal anything to ruin (haha) or spoil any part of the story please proceed with caution!

THINGS THAT I LOVE:

*   The world building.  Ms. Bardugo’s storytelling is so vivid that I can clearly picture it playing out like a movie when reading.

*  Speaking of storytelling. . .reading this series has been effortless.  The words just jump of the page and I can’t read them fast enough.

*  The plethora of leading men.  Though we all have our favorites (TEAM DARKLING!) I truly liked all three of the guys and I’m happy things played out the way they did.  You are kept on your toes for quite a long time to which way things will swing and I think it worked well.

*  Everyone owning up to their mistakes and knowing where they stand.  While these characters had hard and fast decisions to make they didn’t waste time pretending things were different from what they were.

*  Nikolai/Sturmhold’s backbone.  A true leader.

*  Baghra.  Because no one’s head should get too big and it is nice for someone to knock people down a peg.

*  Mal, one of the most selfless characters ever written.  I get tears just thinking of all the things that were done in the name of love, friendship, and honor.

THINGS THAT HURT THE MOST:

*  Not much really.  Don’t get me wrong there were scenes that I had inkling of doubt creep in but deep down I never truly wavered.

Overall Thoughts:

I was VERY lucky to get a copy of this one a few days early (THANK YOU BARNES & NOBLE!!) and I know a worker who can confirm my squeals of joy (and possibly a little dance) when I spotted it on the shelving cart.  This series has been a beacon to my reading side and motivated me to branch out even more on my fantasy reads.  Ms Bardugo’s series IMO is a series you recommend to someone who is looking to jump into reading and you want them to pick up more when they are done.  It was beautiful and has one of the most satisfying endings you could ask for to a wonderful trilogy.

5/5 (I mean really, were there any doubts?)

kiki

3 thoughts on “Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

  1. We Heart YA June 18, 2014 at 8:33 pm Reply

    YAAAAAY so glad it hear that it was a solid ending. We are totally dying to get our hands on it. (Though some of us have to wait until pay day… *grumble grumble*) We’re coming, Sturmhond!

    • Kristina June 23, 2014 at 7:20 am Reply

      One of the best endings in awhile (IMO) ~ K

      On Wed, Jun 18, 2014 at 8:33 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  2. The NKOTB Book Tag | Gone Pecan March 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm Reply

    […] Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – I cannot tell you how happy it makes me that we at least get to go back to the Grisha world with her new series. […]

Leave a Reply

