Daphne goes to the YA Prom!

YA PROM

Alexa & Gaby are hosting the YA Prom and I wanted to get in on the fun! I have less than stellar memories of that night, so long ago.  So I’m doing it right this time. I’m not afraid to be me, rather than succumb to peer pressure by wearing something similar to what everyone else will be, I’m going to own my quirkiness by being a little out there. I am Going Vintage.

gv

My date is Oliver, the hipster/nerd from Lindsey Leavitt’s Going Vintage.  He definitely has enough style to take on my vintage inpsired prom look.


hsj

Harry Shum, Jr., will you go to prom with me? (He’s so freaking adorable.)

 Annie-lace-wedding-dress

This dress is by Joanne Fleming Design.  Isn’t it gorgeous?!  What I love about it is it’s different, but beautiful and I like that it’s short. It would be a lot of fun to dress accessorize, too.

I picked these Jimmy Choo Marion pumps because they’re gorgeous.  And the multistrand pearl necklace is from Etsy.

marionsat_ivory_side

And for a pop of color, these sapphire earrings, also from Etsy.

sapphire

As for hair & make up, the following pics are great representations of what I would want to do.  Diane Kruger (gah, she’s gorgeous) has the perfect makeup.  I would want a bright pop of lipstick because of the white dress.  I love Juliane Hough’s hair here because, if I’m gonna be dancing (and I will be dancing), I want it up and away from my face.

     hbz-dark-lips-1212-Diane-Kruger-xln

 

 

This was such great fun! Thanks to Alexa & Gaby for hosting & giving me the chance to relive my youth. 🙂  I think with Oliver as my date and my adorable gown, I will be the envy of The Enchantment Under the Sea Prom (yes, that was really the theme of my 11th grade prom).  Where’s the afterparty?

daph

12 thoughts on “Daphne goes to the YA Prom!

  1. Christina June 25, 2014 at 6:37 pm Reply

    You win at promming, this is an excellent set of choices.

    • Daphne June 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm Reply

      thank you, thank you 😉

  2. Andi ABCs June 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm Reply

    That dress! And that hair! And those earrings! Love the whole package!!!

    • Daphne June 25, 2014 at 7:10 pm Reply

      we should totally double date

  3. Jen @ fefferbooks.com June 25, 2014 at 7:11 pm Reply

    Dresssss! I love that you asked your date to prom. Hee!

    • Daphne June 25, 2014 at 7:25 pm Reply

      I’m a modern girl with a vintage bent 🙂

  4. Sarah June 25, 2014 at 7:20 pm Reply

    I love every little thing about this post! I have such a fangirl crush on Harry Shum Jr and that dress is so fantastic! Love the vintage vibe of your prom night…so fun!

    • Daphne June 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm Reply

      thank you!

  5. Diana June 25, 2014 at 10:06 pm Reply

    Love it all! Especially the dress. I found a similar one with long sleeves and just stared at it wishing I had a reason to buy it.

  6. Nerissa June 26, 2014 at 12:24 am Reply

    So gorgeous! Perfect Prom! Thanks for taking a look at my YAProm post too:)

  7. Kaja June 26, 2014 at 11:56 am Reply

    Wow, I love the Jimmy Choos and the hair! I haven’t read the book, though, so I’m totally trusting your choice of actor – he’s veeery pretty 🙂

  8. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert June 27, 2014 at 9:12 am Reply

    This looked like such a fun event, I am sad I missed it. Next year! I haven’t read Going Vintage so I am not familiar with your date but I LOVE THE LOOK! That dress is gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

