Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

HoF

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

SOURCE:  egalley via netgalley/publisher

OTHER BOOKS IN SERIES: Throne of Glass Novellas, Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight

SPOILER ALERT:  While I will be as vague as possible to not have spoilers this is the third book in a series so just keep that in mind.

Story Breakdown:

Picking up two weeks after the events of Crown of Midnight we follow Celaena, as well as Chaol and several other new additions, as the events of the previous books are boiling towards events that are bigger, darker, and something they might not be prepared to face.

Character Highlights:

Celaena –  I loved seeing a different side of her in this book but I could have used a little less of her denial.

Chaol – Oh my poor, sweet, broken Chaol.  It might be just me but he felt so much older and broken?  I could feel his burdens through the page.  I wanted to reach in and give him a hug, tell him everything would be ok, but I just don’t know!!

Manon –  What the what?!  HOLY CRAP.  As introductions to new characters go I think she wins!  I’m not sure where her story is leading us just yet but this is one bad bitch.

Rowan – I do love the addition of Rowan as well but I’m not sure what to make of it.  I’m worried for reasons I won’t discuss to remain spoiler free.

Overall Thoughts:

Well first off, we aren’t lacking for male MCs to crush on now are we?  WOWZA.  This series started strong for me, I enjoyed the novellas and was extremely thankful I read them first since I think they helped me understand Celaena better in ToG and open to her swift attitude change.  I love her fierceness and while we don’t lack for hot guys that doubles for bad-ass strong females.  You love C?  I dare you not to love Manon.  I love that there are elements that remind me of Harry Potter, mainly the fact that this is such an epic series and each books seems to be getting a little bigger, a little darker, and definitely more involved than you thought when starting book one.  Maas writes her characters with purpose.  Whether she kills someone or saves them, there is a deeper reason and not just filler.  Her brutal scenes will haunt you long after you’ve read them and move you to feel something beyond just wanting to turn the page for more.  Clocking in at over 500 pages this isn’t a light read but it is a necessary one.  Heir of Fire does not disappoint.  PICK IT UP.

 

** Just a little note, thank you Bloomsbury for upcoming rerelease with the bad-ass cover!  I cannot wait to finally pick up the HCs.  I love the books but the ToG cover made me hold out.**

 

5/5

 

kiki

 

 

4 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Kate S. (@ExLibris_Kate) August 8, 2014 at 7:41 am Reply

    I am so glad that this book is just as good as the first two. I can’t wait!!!

    • Gone Pecan August 8, 2014 at 9:03 am Reply

      I’m so excited to buy the new covers! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. […] Heir of Fire by Sarah J […]

  3. […] the end of Heir of Fire, we were left in a bad place.  It was terrifying and it seemed hopeless. So it was with great […]

Leave a Reply

