Blog Tour: Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth Review + Giveaway

BG TOURBitter

Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth

French novelist Charlotte-Rose de la Force has been banished from the court of Versailles by the Sun King, Louis XIV, after a series of scandalous love affairs. At the convent, she is comforted by an old nun, Sœur Seraphina, who tells her the tale of a young girl who, a hundred years earlier, is sold by her parents for a handful of bitter greens…

After Margherita’s father steals parsley from the walled garden of the courtesan Selena Leonelli, he is threatened with having both hands cut off, unless he and his wife relinquish their precious little girl. Selena is the famous red-haired muse of the artist Tiziano, first painted by him in 1512 and still inspiring him at the time of his death. She is at the center of Renaissance life in Venice, a world of beauty and danger, seduction and betrayal, love and superstition.

Locked away in a tower, Margherita sings in the hope that someone will hear her. One day, a young man does.

SOURCE:  I was actually lucky enough to receive an ARC and a BEAUTIFUL finished copy from the publisher!! (THANKS!)

Thoughts:

This book was definitely a step outside of my comfortable zone, though I admit, not a huge one.  I’m a fan of fairy tale retellings and I’ve heard quite a bit of praise for Bitter Greens so it was on my radar.  This isn’t a book to rush through, it’s a slow read, but an extremely vivid and creatively intertwined story that keeps you on your toes.

I found myself drawn most to Margherita’s sections of the book, seeing the flashes of magic and the very dark “roots” of the Tangled tale we’ve all come to love.  I also enjoyed the glimpses of court, the wardrobes, and the theatrics that came with them.  The entire book was filled with intriguing locations and time periods that were wonderfully crafted and so easy to become a part of as you are reading.  The one small issue (if you can even call it that) I had was that I found a few of the darker parts a bit disturbing. . .but more in a “I can’t look away” as opposed to a “What the what?!”

Any fans of fairy tales or beautifully descriptive historical fiction are sure to enjoy this tale.

4/5

Want to find out more about Kate and her lovely book?  Follow the link below for a full list of blog tour stops!

BITTER GREENS BLOG TOUR

 

giveaway

Sound like something you would like?  (It’s ok I know you want to read it. :P)  Well it’s your lucky day!  Follow the rafflecopter link below to enter to win your own finished copy.  US ONLY, giveaway ends 10/10/14 @ 12:00am, winner has 48 hours to respond.  GOOD LUCK!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

kiki

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth Review + Giveaway

  1. Diana Silva October 3, 2014 at 6:33 pm Reply

    sounds fantastic. Would love to read!

  2. Beth W October 5, 2014 at 10:18 pm Reply

    This one has been on my wishlist since I first heard about it- but the final cover looks gorgeous! I definitely increases my desire to read it, that everyone I know who has read it really liked it. YAY!

    • Kristina October 6, 2014 at 8:04 am Reply

      Great covers make all the difference. 😛

      On Sun, Oct 5, 2014 at 10:18 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. NIcole @ The Quiet Concert October 6, 2014 at 6:45 am Reply

    This sounds like a book I will enjoy! I don’t read a TON of retellings but I have mostly enjoyed the ones I have read and I keep hearing good things about this book. I don’t mind descriptive, slower-paced stories either if they are well done! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Kristina October 6, 2014 at 8:04 am Reply

      This one will be right up your alley then. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      On Mon, Oct 6, 2014 at 6:45 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  4. La La in the LiBrArY October 7, 2014 at 2:26 am Reply

    I have loved the story of Rapunzel since childhood. I was drawn to her because, like with this book cover, she was usually depicted with read hair. I used to get teased a lot for having red hair and it was nice to be thinking about a princess with red hair. Thank-you for this wonderful giveaway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

