Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

MH

Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name of St. Mortain, patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress, to be forever sequestered in the rock and stone womb of the convent. Feeling sorely betrayed, Annith decides to strike out on her own.

She has spent her whole life training to be an assassin. Just because the convent has changed its mind doesn’t mean she has.

But across Brittany, the tides of war are drawing ever nearer, with France pressuring the beleaguered duchess from all sides. Annith’s search for answers threatens to rip open an intricate web of lies and deceit that sit at the heart of the convent she serves. Yet to expose them threatens the very fabric of her existence and risks an unforeseen chance at love, one that she can no longer deny. Annith must carefully pick a path and, gods willing, effect a miracle that will see her country—and her heart—to safety.

SOURCE:  ARC provided by publisher for review (10,000 thank yous!)

BOOKS IN SERIES:  Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph

SPOILER WARNING:  This is the third book in a trilogy so proceed with caution.

Story Breakdown: Overlapping slightly with Dark Triumph we learn what is happening at the convent with Annith and the Abbess (before she is called to court), and Annith’s journey in seeking the truth about herself as well as her future and possibly freedom from the convent.

Character Highlights:

Annith – WOW.  Annith is sooooo not what I thought she would be.  This girl is a serious kick-ass lady.  Based on what we see of her in GM & DT she seems so passive but WATCH OUT, she packs a punch!  She was such a pleasant surprise and I thoroughly enjoyed reading her story.  I loved what I call “don’t tell me I can’t do it” attitude.  I can relate to this a lot.

Balthazaar –  Definitely the closest guy to my dear Darkling in quite a while.  I wish he would have had a few more moments and a bit more interaction with other characters (ok mainly more time with Annith :P) but overall a great addition!

Overall Thoughts:

How do you say goodbye to a series?  While Mortal Heart wasn’t quite as fabulous as Dark Triumph storyline for me it was still a solid ending to what is sure to be a top go-to reread series on my book shelves.  In comparison, GM and DT held much more political intrigue and MH was more a love letter to Annith, a book whose sole purpose is to tell her story, her family history, her future that she must fight for.  While we do have time with past favorites (Ismae and Sybella, the Queen, Duval and Beast (EEP!), make no mistake – this is about Annith and her journey and what a journey it was!  Fans of this series will not be disappointed one bit.

5/5

kiki

4 thoughts on “Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

  1. Amanda October 6, 2014 at 11:47 am Reply

    So glad to know we’ll see the others a bit! I cannot wait to read this!

  2. loveatfirstpage October 7, 2014 at 8:48 pm Reply

    Great review! I loved this one too! I think it’s my favorite (though all the boys are pretty much equal). Annith’s growth is incredible and I adored her strong spirit. Then there’s the love interest. So brooding! ❤

  3. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert October 19, 2014 at 6:23 pm Reply

    Annith was such a pleasant surprise for me too! It was so good to finally get her story and I can’t express my love for this series enough. The romance in this book wasn’t my favorite of the three but I thought it was fitting. The PERFECT conclusion.

    • Kristina October 20, 2014 at 7:29 am Reply

      I think Dark Triumph is my favorite. . . although I think that is the fav for several people. LOL

      On Sun, Oct 19, 2014 at 6:23 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

