Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga

BMBJazz Dent has been shot and left to die in New York City. His girlfriend Connie is in the clutches of Jazz’s serial killer father, Billy. And his best friend Howie is bleeding to death on the floor of Jazz’s own home in tiny Lobo’s Nod. Somehow, these three must rise above the horrors their lives have become and find a way to come together in pursuit of Billy. But then Jazz crosses a line he’s never crossed before, and soon the entire country is wondering: “Like father, like son?” Who is the true monster?
The chase is on, and beyond Billy there lurks something much, much worse. Prepare to meet…the Crow King
.

SOURCE:  egalley via publisher/netgalley

 

 

 

 

 

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES: I Hunt Killers, Game

Story Breakdown:  Picking up where Game leaves off and told in multiple POVs, we follow Jazz, his friends, the police as they are tracking down Billy Dent, and find out more about what actually happened to Jazz’s mom as he searches for her trying to outsmart his father.

Character Highlights:

Jazz/Jasper – WOW.  This kid has to have to the worst family tree.  The fact that he can even speak to someone is a social setting amazes me.

Detective Hughes – What a douche canoe.  WTF is this guy’s deal?  If there was ever a character I wanted to reach into the book and punch in the throat this is the guy.

Overall Thoughts:

HOLY GUACAMOLE .  This is a seriously fast-paced series ender that is worthy of being the final installment.  Excuse me for the language but this book was all kinds of fucked up and exactly what I needed to read right now to shake this reading funk.  You want dark?  Twisty?  Disturbed?  THIS IS IT.  Not only that, you get answers.  Do you know how much that means?!  ANSWERS.  There isn’t a series out there that I’ve read to date that I can compare these too.  I look forward to reading more from Mr. Lyga in the future.

 

5/5

kiki

5 thoughts on “Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga

  1. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook October 22, 2014 at 8:35 am Reply

    I loved this book and this series so much! It is dark and messed up, and you’re right, I can’t think of another book out there that is like these ones. Glad you liked it!

    Also – Detective Hughes is a TOTAL douche canoe.

    • Kristina October 22, 2014 at 9:04 am Reply

      So happy you agree! DH is just UGH. I don’t want to give anything away for anyone but GEEZ.

      On Wed, Oct 22, 2014 at 8:35 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  2. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) October 22, 2014 at 11:02 am Reply

    I’m so scared of these books! Everyone in the WORLD that has read them LOVES them to pieces but everyone says they’re so F’d up and I’m so creeped out by the covers and I JUST DON’T KNOW. BUT! I’m also curious. And scared. I’m such a wuss.

    • Kristina October 22, 2014 at 11:05 am Reply

      I wouldn’t say they are as scary as they are messed up/disturbing. I liken them more do Dexter meets Criminal Minds more than some scary slasher movie.

      On Wed, Oct 22, 2014 at 11:02 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert November 5, 2014 at 8:29 am Reply

    WASN’T THIS AH-MAZINGGGG!!!! My gosh what a trill ride. I loved it and I agree that no series I’ve read is quite like this one. I am still reeling.

Leave a Reply

