The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson

deceptionA princess must find her place in a reborn world.
She flees on her wedding day.
She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.
She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.
She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.
The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.
Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

SOURCE:  egalley via netgalley/publisher & finished copy (won) (DOUBLE THANKS!)

Story Breakdown:

Wanting to marry for love and not duty Lia runs from her family before her wedding trying to start a new, “normal” life not knowing how many were relying on her wedding alliance and exactly how much others might not want that to happen either. . .

Character Highlights:

Lia – Ok, let’s talk about this girl right here.  I wanted to punch her for being so hypocritical to others and not carrying about how her decisions affected both her family AND HER COUNTRY.  COUNTRY.  This isn’t something her parents did to punish her, this was a huge move to protect her livelihood.  Then I would remind myself that she is only seventeen.  Just a kid.  You can’t keep someone in the dark on so much an expect the same decisions you think you would make (especially being I’m an adult, at least somewhat).  Once I got to that point the vicious cycle would start itself again for the next decision she made.  I can say that no matter what she did before or after, she redeemed herself to me indefinitely in Chapter 68.  THAT is loyalty.  THAT is love.  I’ve never felt so moved or read such an utterly heartbreaking scene.

Rafe & Kaden – I knew there was a huge twist so to speak in the story and its immediately clear that you don’t know who is the prince and who is the assassin.  I will not give anything away but I cannot tell you the vindication I felt when I GOT IT RIGHT.  Not knowing who was who had me flying through chapters in their POVs, over analyzing phrases and trying to read between the lines. I had an internal debate until the reveal.

Overall Thoughts –  I admit I put off reading this book longer than I should have (believe me I’m kicking myself), but I’m thankful that I read it now since that means the one piece of good news from postponing is that The Heart of Betrayal is much closer to being released.  This was a beautiful story and I very much look forward to the second installment.  Pick it up, IMO chapter 68 is worth it alone but when you add the wonderful world Ms Pearson’s created you won’t regret it.

4.5/5

kiki

 

5 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson

  1. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) November 22, 2014 at 12:39 pm Reply

    I really need to pull this one down from my shelf and read it. I don’t think I’ve ever actually read a blog post or review about it before, so thanks! Also, this — > “over analyzing phrases and trying to read between the lines” is totally me. So it kind of makes me excited because I love books like that. Also HELLO to a beautiful cover. Hello, gorgeous.

    • Kristina November 23, 2014 at 4:07 pm Reply

      Yes! I can’t to hear your thoughts on it!! Let me know when you start!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert November 23, 2014 at 8:39 am Reply

    I don’t have the book in front of me but I think I know what you are referring to. It was a powerful moment. I actually got the who’s-who wrong and I had to recalibrate at the reveal. But yes, I very much loved this one. Can’t wait for book 2!!

    • Kristina November 24, 2014 at 7:08 am Reply

      ME TOO!! The beginning was a bit slow and I was worried I wouldn’t love it like everyone else but that was so not the case!

      On Sun, Nov 23, 2014 at 8:39 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. Candice December 8, 2014 at 9:38 am Reply

    Hooray! I’m very glad you enjoyed this one. It was one of my favorite reads this year! And the continuously guessing on the prince and the assassin! Loved it!

Leave a Reply

