Jane Austen Cover to Cover by Margaret C Sullivan

austenJane Austen’s six novels are true classics, still immensely popular some 200 years after their first publication. But although the celebrated stories never change, the covers are always different. Jane Austen Cover to Cover compiles two centuries of design, from elegant Victorian hardcovers and the famed 1894 “Peacock” edition to 1950s pulp, movie tie-in editions, graphic novels, foreign-language translations, and many, many others. Filled with beautiful artwork and insightful commentary, this fascinating and visually intriguing collection is a must for Janeites, design geeks, and book lovers of every stripe.

SOURCE:  finished copy for review via publisher (THANK YOU!!)

Overall Thoughts:  After reading this book there is no doubt in my mind this will be a treasured book in my collection.  I think no matter if you’ve read all of her novels, none, watched all of the movies and made for tv specials, or some combination Austen has touched your life.   Heck, there are modern-day books and movies that are based on them you might not even realize (Clueless anyone?  AS IF!!).  I fall into the movie group.  I adored Sense and Sensibility so much that I wrote an Honors English book report on it my senior year of high school (a book report on the movie, you read that correctly) and got an A, that is how much I had memorized.  I still adore S & S but the latest Pride & Prejudice with Kiera Knightley has won my heart for top bill.  Reading about Jane herself, learning facts I never knew, as well as reading about the various editions of her wonderful works (A collector’s dream!) brought a smile to my face and I’m about to eat my words to a few fellow bloggers, but made me WANT to pick up her books and try again.

 

This is a must for any Austen fan and would make a wonderful addition to their collections.

4/5

 

kiki

2 thoughts on “Jane Austen Cover to Cover by Margaret C Sullivan

  1. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook November 24, 2014 at 8:53 am Reply

    I’m so excited to read this. I’m actually hoping to get this for Christmas, but I hate having to wait. I almost just want to run out and get myself a copy.

    • Kristina November 24, 2014 at 8:54 am Reply

      It’s gorgeous! You will love it!!!

      On Mon, Nov 24, 2014 at 8:53 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

