Top Ten Tuesday – Top Books on my Winter TBR

ttt

Hosted by the beauties over at The Broke and Bookish, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature. (That we haven’t done since July. :P)
Today’s topic?

Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

Welcome to the first top ten I’ve done in MONTHS. I’m so sorry guys!! You know I’ve had a lot of family responsibilites and thankfully things are looking up so look for more posts and visits to your blogs soon!!!

  spin
1. Spinster: A Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick – GUYS. This book feels like the perfect read for me. The opening line on goodreads: “Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence, regardless of where she was raised or what religion she does or doesn’t practice.” THIS. It bothers me so much that people judge others (myself included) for not being married. I could seriously write a huge discussion on this topic. I broke my netgalley ban to request this one. (Thankfully I was approved!)
dreamer
2. Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier I haven’t started reading any of her books as of yet but they all seem fabulous and the start of an adult fantasy series feels like the shake up I need.
 mag
3. Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley – The cover. The blurb. I mean really, who wouldn’t want to read this?!
 sin
4. The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury – I actually found this one when I was added Magonia and it popped up in the recs section. THIS BOOK SOUNDS SO GREAT. Also, the cover looks gorgeous.  GIMME!!!
maple
5. Maplecroft by Cherie Priest My friend Carrie added this one and when I read the blurb, HOLY CRAP. The idea for this book is something I wish I would thought of.
fair
6. Fairest by Marissa Meyer I’m slowly becoming a sucker for villains and their stories. Also, its been too long since I’ve read Cress. I need back in Ms Meyer’s world STAT.
sun
7. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson I know. I bought it and it has just been sitting on the shelf waiting. I AM COMING FOR YOU, DON’T GIVE UP HOPE.
A Darker Shade final for Irene
8. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – Parallel Londons? A character described by the author as “a royal who is equal parts Prince Harry and Jack Harkness” SIGN ME UP.
wild
9. Wildalone by Krassi Zourkova – part of the pitch on this one: a bewitching blend of Twilight, The Secret History, Jane Eyre, and A Discovery of Witches. SOLD.
 mos
10. Mosquitoland by David Arnold – I saw this one when Daph added it to goodreads and I don’t know what it is. . .the cover, to blurb, but this just sounds like a “me” book.
So that’s it for me?  What about you?  Have a book I should check out?  TELL ME!!!!!!
kiki
14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Books on my Winter TBR

  1. readerbuzz November 25, 2014 at 6:41 am Reply

    Interesting possibilities, I think. I like the sound of Mosquitoland, especially.

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday!

  2. Heidi @ YA Bibliophile November 25, 2014 at 8:24 am Reply

    So excited for Fairest!!! Also, I really want to read something by Juliet Marillier as well.

    • Kristina November 25, 2014 at 8:44 am Reply

      Someone else who hasn’t read her yet?! I feel so much better now!! Thanks for stopping by!

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 8:24 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally November 25, 2014 at 9:26 am Reply

    I’m so excited for A Darker Shade of Magic and Fairest! I also need to get my hands on The Sin Eater’s Daughter, it sounds amazing! Great list!

    • Kristina November 25, 2014 at 10:17 am Reply

      Doesn’t it?! Thanks for stopping by!!

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 9:26 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  4. Amanda November 25, 2014 at 9:48 am Reply

    Thanks for cluing me in to Maplecroft! adding to my list now!

    • Kristina November 25, 2014 at 10:20 am Reply

      YAY!

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 9:48 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  5. Lucy November 25, 2014 at 10:25 am Reply

    Awesome mix of books, Kristina! I’m on a non-fiction kick and may have to give Spinster a try. I think you sold me on Wildalone too. I’m in the same boat with #7!
    Happy winter reading and I’m so glad to hear that things are looking up for you 🙂

    • Kristina November 25, 2014 at 11:49 am Reply

      YAY! Thanks for stopping by! I’m getting there slowly but hopefully I’m in full swing come January. 🙂

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 10:25 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  6. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook November 25, 2014 at 10:28 am Reply

    I haven’t read anything by Juliet Marillier, but I’ve heard such amazing things. And I’ve heard that book is great too. I’m excited for Fairest, too, but not nearly as excited as I am for Winter.

    • Kristina November 25, 2014 at 11:49 am Reply

      Another person who hasn’t read her yet?! Y’all are making me feel better and better! Maybe we can try one together. 🙂

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 10:28 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  7. samoak November 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm Reply

    Nice! I hadn’t heard of Spinster but it’s def. on my wishlist now. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  8. Caitie F November 25, 2014 at 9:25 pm Reply

    Ooo Maplecroft is on my list too. I need to check out some of these.

  9. Beth W November 26, 2014 at 12:22 pm Reply

    YES. To all of these. Maplecroft is only my list and OMG JULIET MARILLIER. I loved Wildwood Dancing. I hope Dreamer’s Pool is great, too!

Leave a Reply

