Top 10 Tuesday #107 — Favorite books of 2014

ttt

It’s been such a great year for books (although, I’m pretty sure we say that every year). This year, I really fell hard for Fantasy (thanks to Kiki) and both of our lists will reflect that, though I still have a soft spot for contemporary.  I also want to point out that some of my most anticipated reads of 2014 are still sitting on my shelf, unread (Dreams of Gods and Monsters, Heir of Fire, The Blood of Olympus), but I am sure they would be on my list had I actually read them. So here is the list, in no particular order:

17167166

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas (you HAVE to read the prequels)

10429092

The Fire and Thorns series, including all of the novellas (read the novellas, they’re fantastic)

18465657

The One and Only by Emily Giffin (left me wanting more)

18693716

One Plus One by Jojo Moyes (I fell in love with these characters)

20579292

In Your Dreams by Kristan Higgins (so much to love here)

1829867

Persuasion by Jane Austen (that letter!)

17415882

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen (on pins and needles for the next one)

17693452

Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu (soooo goood)

18246733

Shame on You by Tara Sivec (such a funny series)

18246306

Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins (drool-worthy hero & fantastic YA-ish flashbacks)

Those are my 5 star reads for the year.

daph

~*~

16429619

Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

20613470

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

14061957

Ruin and Rising  by Leigh Bardugo

18081809

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

9565548

Grave Mercy by Robin Lefevers

9943270

Dark Triumps by Robin LaFevers

20522640

Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

13638131

Unbound by Victoria Schwab

14288998

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi

kiki

So that’s it for our best of list 2014…do you agree with some of our picks?

11 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #107 — Favorite books of 2014

  1. Candice December 16, 2014 at 10:13 am Reply

    I want to hug both your lists and then steal some of these books from you! 🙂 I still need to read Mortal Heart like whoa… but I’m kind of wanting to reread the others first. Also Queen of the Tearling! And Girl of Fire and Thorns! Oh these are the best lists ever! 🙂

  2. Tee December 16, 2014 at 10:31 am Reply

    All right, so what I’m getting here, Kiki, is that I need to read Grace Mercy. We’ll put that on the list next to Cinder. And Daph, Persuasion, THE LETTER. I know, right? Captain Wentworth never gets his props with Austen fans because of Mr. Darcy, but that man is to die for swoony.

  3. Jess @ Gone with the Words December 16, 2014 at 10:43 am Reply

    One Plus One made my list also, and Waiting on You was DEF a 5-star read! I need to catch up on the Throne of Glass series this upcoming year though. Great lists, ladies!

  4. Elizabeth December 16, 2014 at 10:49 am Reply

    Umm, OF COURSE I agree with some of your picks, lol. I loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns series and have seriously high hopes for The Queen of the Tearling series because Kelsea reminded me so much of Elissa. And One Plus One was really good, too. And I haven’t read those Kristan Higgins books yet, but yeah, she’s awesome. His Fair Assassin series- yes, I like those, though Mortal Heart is still on my library hold list. And of course Rainbow Rowell. So yeah, I guess you could say that your list has some pretty good picks on it.

  5. Amanda December 16, 2014 at 10:51 am Reply

    I have so many of the same books on my list (mentally bc I am a TTT failure today) that I feel like I need to read all the ones you both loved. Persuasion is definitely on my list to read in 2015.

    And Daphne I am so glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read HoF or Dreams of Gods and Monsters. I also feel guilty every time I see Into the Still Blue. I so want to read it but I’m not ready for the series to be over!

  6. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) December 16, 2014 at 11:42 am Reply

    LOVE these lists – I have one overlapping with each of you – One Plus One and Landline! But that’s because I kept my list to adult fiction; yall have a ton of great YA and romance up here. LOVE these lists.

  7. Emalie December 16, 2014 at 1:36 pm Reply

    Sadly I haven’t read any of those, but I love the cover of “The Kiss of Deception”. Really beautiful.

  8. samoak December 17, 2014 at 9:49 pm Reply

    Awesome lists! I really need to start the Sarah J Maas books. New goal for 2015!

  9. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook December 18, 2014 at 11:40 am Reply

    So, so, so many of these are on my TBR. Some Kristan Higgins for sure. But also the Throne of Glass books. I’ve never read them! Or the Grave Mercy books. I need to get my butt in gear.

  10. Ashley @The Quiet Concert December 21, 2014 at 2:11 pm Reply

    LOVE Landline and Into the Still Blue!! So many good books listed, a couple I still need to pick up and read!

  11. Rather Be Reading (@ReadingGals) December 22, 2014 at 8:45 am Reply

    So many great books on here! It was a nice year for reading, wasn’t it? I’m going to try to get to Landline before the year is up. 🙂 -e

Leave a Reply

