The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

sedSeventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court.

She’s the executioner.

As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company.

But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen.

However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?

SOURCE:  galley via publisher/Edelweiss + physical ARC (THANK YOU!!)

Story Breakdown:

Taken from home at a young age Twylla has grown up at the castle around the royal family, promised to the prince as a Goddess returned.  Until she marries she must serve as the executioner to crimes against the crown and Queen as she is deadly to the touch.  As the list of the Queen’s enemies grows Twylla is assigned a new guard who causes her to doubt her isolation and future.

Character Highlights:

Twylla – I make no secret of the fact that I’m not a hugger but boy did I want to give her one.  This poor girl!  I felt so sorry for her about not being able to physically connect with anyone for any reason.  Regardless of her circumstances she was a very strong and extremely smart character which was completely refreshing.  I didn’t find myself yelling at her as I was reading even once.

Lief –  I’m not sure what I want to say about him.  To be completely honest it has been several days since I finished and I’m truly still middle of the road on him.  I guess the jury is still out on the this subject.

The Queen – She does have a name but if you read this book she deserves no less than her title.  WOW WHAT A ROYAL BITCH.

Dorin – He reminds me of a great friend I had who was almost like a second father to me.  We no longer work together but I sure do miss him.

Merek – If I’m pronouncing this correctly then this is the name (though spelled differently) of one of my sister’s exes from high school.  Not motivating for me to be on his side but with that being said I did like him though he fell a little flat for me in our first few encounters.

Overall Thoughts:

When you read as much as I do sometimes you start plotting out the book.  Will this person die?  Will that person live?  Who’s the love interest?  Is there a love triangle?!  Well, I found myself 20 pages in and I JUST KNEW I had it all figured out.  The further along I went the more confident I grew in my choices and started talking to the book/characters like I was watching someone in a scary movie walk into a dark room.  You know what happened?  I WAS WRONG.  I was wrong about every single theory I had about this book and I couldn’t have loved it more!  The story was very entertaining and went in directions I wouldn’t have even guessed.  I won’t ruin anything for you guys but towards then end when I was at my most confident, was when I was shot down.  Every character did the opposite of what I thought.  ALL OF THEM.  It shocked me enough that I had to stop and ask myself if it really happened.  One of the best reads in quite a while and I’m eager to read more from this world.

BONUS:  GUYS.  THE COVER.  How beautiful?!?  Just gorgeous!

4/5

 

kiki

9 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

  1. Amanda January 28, 2015 at 10:12 am Reply

    Oh yeah! This sounds so good so I’m so glad you loved it. I love it when a book totally changes direction from what you’re expecting!

    • Kristina January 28, 2015 at 1:30 pm Reply

      YES! So much more fun that way!

      On Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 10:12 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  2. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook January 28, 2015 at 1:24 pm Reply

    I’m definitely curious about this one, but I have actually read a far number of books where the main character kills anyone she touches. So I am hesitant as well. But I’m so glad to hear how much you loved this, and how surprised you were

    • Kristina January 28, 2015 at 1:57 pm Reply

      I think you will be surprised! Give it a try and let me know!

      On Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 1:24 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. We Heart YA January 29, 2015 at 9:23 am Reply

    Oh how interesting! There’s a strange kind of satisfaction when you’re completely wrong about your predictions for a story, haha. Glad you enjoyed this! It sounds really interesting, and a bit like GRACELING in certain ways (which we loved).

    • Kristina January 29, 2015 at 12:22 pm Reply

      EXACTLY. LOL

      On Thu, Jan 29, 2015 at 9:23 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  4. Candice January 29, 2015 at 2:09 pm Reply

    Oh yay! I think I had seen you really wanted to read this one so I knew it was going to be good! Glad it ended up being a great read. I kind of love when I’m wrong about my book theories. Always makes for a good surprise!

    • Kristina January 30, 2015 at 8:34 am Reply

      Yes ma’am! I’m sending to Daph but maybe she will send to you after if you are interested. I think you will like it too!

      On Thu, Jan 29, 2015 at 2:09 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  5. The NKOTB Book Tag | Gone Pecan March 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm Reply

    […] The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury – I’ve already read and reviewed this one and WOW.  It went almost the complete opposite of what I thought it would.  BRAVO! […]

Leave a Reply

