You Can’t Always Get What You Want by Chelsey Krause Blog Tour and Giveaway

23256189

Sophie Richards has been looking forward to a much-needed girls’ night out: a Rolling Stones tribute-band concert, a few drinks, a distraction from her grueling nursing shifts in acute care. But when her best friend bails, Sophie gets stuck with a blind date.

Although Brett Nicholson may be the hottest carpenter alive, and Sophie may technically be single, she isn’t exactly on the market. Six years ago she found The One. He was everything Sophie dreamed a man could be—and then she lost him. In an instant, her whole life changed, and she forgot all about happily ever after.

But as she gets to know Brett, Sophie starts to wonder about the future for the first time. With a broken heart still clouding her mind, jumping into a new relationship feels impossible. When she’s in his arms, walking away feels even harder. Now Sophie faces an impossible choice: living in the past or choosing love in the here and now.

Source: received egalley from publisher/Tasty Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

 

Sophie is a 24 year old nurse who is stuck in the past and cannot seem to move past a horrible incident that took the life of the love of her life, Aaron, several years ago.  She’s pretty much coasting, spending time with her best friend, Sam, and working as a nurse, though she’s not really in love with her job. When Sam sets her up with Brett, Sophie reluctantly agrees but she doesn’t believe that there could be anything there between them.  Sophie and Brett quickly become friends, though there is an attraction there that even Sophie cannot deny.  Their relationship starts to change, but Sophie is still hung up on Aaron and feels guilt about moving on.

This book was very sweet and a quick read.  Sophie was a good character, though I did want to shake her sometimes.  She’s very much stuck in the past and it was frustrating, especially when she so clearly had something special with Brett.  Brett was a very different sort of hero in one way, which I won’t reveal because it does make for an interesting plot twist.  Their relationship is adorable, however, and I was rooting for them the entire way.  There were some snags in the book, like some of the transitions were pretty bumpy (though that could have been the galley because I couldn’t tell when a section ended) and the exposition was sometimes jarring, but the story was fantastic.  This is the author’s first book and I think she’s well on her way to a long career.  The issues I had will be easily fixed with experience.  I would pick up another book by her because I loved the characters and the setting (Canada!).

3.5/5

17c52-tasty-book-tours-button

Follow the Tour

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo

Chelsey KrauseAuthor Info

I was born and raised in Canada, and live with my husband and two children. I’ve been a nurse since 2009. An essay I wrote on intercultural nursing has been published in a nursing anthology.

I love thrift shops, repurposing old junk and learning new belly dance moves. I can’t decide if my favorite movie is either “Bridget Jones’ Diary” or “Fight Club.”

I’ve always wanted to be a writer and in the spring of 2013, I finally sat down and wrote my first book. Now that that’s done, I’m working on my second.

I believe that the best way to become a great writer is to read. A lot.

And then read some more.

I absolutely love books and would live at the library if they’d let me.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

giveaway

Rafflecopter Giveaway $25.00 Book Seller eGift Card and Loveswept Mug & Tote

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “You Can’t Always Get What You Want by Chelsey Krause Blog Tour and Giveaway

  1. Tasty Book Tours January 30, 2015 at 12:17 am Reply

    Thank you so much for hosting!!

Leave a Reply

