The Secrets of Sir Richard Kenworthy by Julia Quinn (The Smythe-Smith Quartet #4) Blog Tour

22046656

Sir Richard Kenworthy has less than a month to find a bride. He knows he can’t be too picky, but when he sees Iris Smythe-Smith hiding behind her cello at her family’s infamous musicale, he thinks he might have struck gold. She’s the type of girl you don’t notice until the second—or third—look, but there’s something about her, something simmering under the surface, and he knows she’s the one.

Iris Smythe–Smith is used to being underestimated. With her pale hair and quiet, sly wit she tends to blend into the background, and she likes it that way. So when Richard Kenworthy demands an introduction, she is suspicious. He flirts, he charms, he gives every impression of a man falling in love, but she can’t quite believe it’s all true. When his proposal of marriage turns into a compromising position that forces the issue, she can’t help thinking that he’s hiding something . . . even as her heart tells her to say yes.

Source: egalley through Edelweiss/Tasty Book Tours/Avon Books in exchange for an honest review

The-Secrets-of-Sir-Richard-Kenworthy-Julia-Quinn THE SECRETS OF SIR RICHARD

 

Iris Smythe-Smith is a cellist in her family’s dreaded annual musicale.  She’s one of four unmarried cousins that plays a musical instrument and is forced to perform every year for the peers of the Ton.  Sir Richard attends the musicale with ulterior motives and sets his eyes on Iris.  He has a reason to find a wife and find one soon.  He’s even so desperate that he forgoes finding one with a large dowry.  Iris catches his eye and once he meets her, he is determined that she be the future Mrs. Kenworthy.

Iris is skeptical.  She is attracted to Sir Richard and maybe even interested, but he seems to be moving fast and laying it on a bit thick.  Sir Richard creates a scene that makes it clear that they must marry and his plans start to fall into place.

I loved this book and read it in just a few hours.  I was so curious about Sir Richard and his issues.  I figured it out right before it was revealed, but I felt that the big issue was an interesting one that I hadn’t read about in a Regency romance before.  Another reason I loved it so much is because the two main characters were fantastic.  I loved Iris’s wit and determination, but I also really felt for her because she was falling in love and was receiving mixed messages from her husband.  Richard, too, was a very complex and interesting character.  We’re privy to his thoughts, so I knew he was trying to be honorable at the same time he was determined to use Iris for whatever his needs were.

This might be my favorite couple from the Smythe-Smith series.  There was very little sexual escapades, which fit the story, but made me a bit disappointed.  I do think that that Richard could have been more upfront about what was going on and I think he still could have gotten the girl.  There were issues about him not telling when he could have, and I was disappointed right along with Iris by this when she found out.  Still, I did like Richard, despite his shortcomings, and I was pulling for him & Iris to have a happily ever after.

4.5/5

17c52-tasty-book-tours-button

Follow the Tour

Goodreads | Goodreads Series Link

 Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

 ~*~

JULIA QUINN-NEW PHOTO

 Author Info

JULIA QUINN started writing her first book one month after finishing college and has been tapping away at her keyboard ever since. The New York Times bestselling author of twenty-four novels for Avon Books, she is a graduate of Harvard and Radcliffe Colleges and is one of only fifteen authors ever to be inducted in the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her family.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Goodreads

giveaway

To win a tour wide giveaway of a print bundle of the Smythe-Smith Quartet, including A NIGHT LIKE THIS, JUST LIKE HEAVEN and THE SUM OF ALL KISSES (books 1-3) go here:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

daph

4 thoughts on “The Secrets of Sir Richard Kenworthy by Julia Quinn (The Smythe-Smith Quartet #4) Blog Tour

  1. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook February 4, 2015 at 11:32 am Reply

    My review for this is going up tomorrow. This isn’t my favorite JQ book. I do love her books, but this one fell a little flat. I actually find the beginning to be a bit dry. And Sir Richard definitely frustrated me. But I loved Iris so much, and I was so annoyed that Sir Richard didn’t tell her what was going on.

    But still, this is JQ, and i did enjoy the book. It’s just not my favorite, and probably not one I would ever read again.

    I’m so glad that you loved it so much.

    • Daphne February 4, 2015 at 12:42 pm Reply

      I do agree that this is not her best work, it doesn’t touch the level of the Bridgertons. I think she needs to do the next generation of Bridgertons.

  2. Tasty Book Tours February 4, 2015 at 8:40 pm Reply

    Thank you for hosting today!

  3. Amanda @ On a Book Bender February 8, 2015 at 7:48 pm Reply

    SIR RICHARD!!!! His secrets made me want to keep reading, too. I HAD TO KNOW. And like you, I kinda adored Iris and Richard together. I wanted more of them. I might have to reread some day when I have the entire afternoon to devote to it. This book was not meant to be read in bits and pieces over a few days.

Leave a Reply

