A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

court

 

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

SOURCE:  ARC provided by publisher for review (Thank you cannot express enough what this book meant to me!)

 

 

Story Breakdown:

I can’t break it down for you. . .oh wait I can:  EPIC.  FANTASICAL EPICNESS.

Character Highlights:

Feyre –  She started out a little to heard strong for me.  She is a very sassy thing (maybe I’m saw too much of myself in her that way?  HAHA)  but I warmed up to her very quickly.  When I did all I wanted to do was hug her-I understood the sense of family obligation she felt.

Tamlin – Oh you socially awkward faerie.  Be still my heart.

Nesta – There’s the door.  Don’t let it hit you on the way out you ungrateful little. . . witch.

Lucien – There are no coherent notes for him.  Just hearts and emojis.  SWOON CITY.  GIMME.

Overall Thoughts:  Well.  The book that launched a thousand tweets (give or take a few :P).  It’s hard to review a book you love, I know we’ve all been there but I’m going to admit something to you guys.  I know this is book one but I think (THINK, not sure yet) there is a good chance that I might end up loving these more than the ToG series.  WAIT.  Don’t get mad! I still adore all of her books but something about this one just grabbed me and gave me Heir of Fire level feels book one.  To me that says A LOT.  (Manon, you’re still my fav though!)  This book had all of the feels I had in ToG but stronger, darker, more of them, and felt more complete out the gate that I cannot tell you the level of anticipation I have for book two to be here already.  The struggle is real.  In fact I feel the urge to stop writing right now and maybe start a reread.  Maas you are a genius.

 

This book had been preordered for some time and suggest you get with it STAT.

 

10/5 (Yeah I know, so what?)

 

kiki

9 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

  1. Michelle April 15, 2015 at 7:52 pm Reply

    Whoa! Again, I’m hearing nothing but good things about this book…I’ll definitely try grabbing it.

    • Kristina April 17, 2015 at 12:09 pm Reply

      SO GOOD. I hope you love it!

      On Wed, Apr 15, 2015 at 7:52 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  2. Ashley @The Quiet Concert April 15, 2015 at 8:25 pm Reply

    I have seen nothing but good things about ACOTAR! I just finished Throne of Glass and really enjoyed it and her writing so I am looking forward to starting this one. I do like EPICness!

    • Kristina April 17, 2015 at 12:11 pm Reply

      YES!!! Throne of Glass picks up with each book but this one starts out much darker so I’m excited to see what you think!

      On Wed, Apr 15, 2015 at 8:25 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. We Heart YA April 16, 2015 at 11:10 am Reply

    Aahhh yay! Maas really took us by surprise with her other series, so we’re stoked for this one. Glad to hear it lives up!

    • Kristina April 17, 2015 at 12:12 pm Reply

      YES YES YES! Although I know my co-blogger Daph still likes ToG more. . . I’m still open but I have a feeling this is THE ONE.

      On Thu, Apr 16, 2015 at 11:10 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  4. Suzi Q, The Book Dame May 11, 2015 at 5:19 am Reply

    I love the idea of retellings, unfortunately I usually am disappointed by them. I am planning on reading this one though, since I have seen so many reviews, like yours, where the reader was blown away. Thanks for your review.

    • Kristina June 15, 2015 at 12:19 pm Reply

      I hope you love it! Def let me know.

      On Mon, May 11, 2015 at 5:19 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  5. Sadia @ Backtomybooks July 10, 2015 at 10:06 pm Reply

    Oh geez, I love this book! I liked it better that TOG (gasp). I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who has a hard time reviewing favorite books. I sometimes feel a little flustered. Any thoughts on Rhysand?

Leave a Reply

