BEA – New Friends and New Books

bea

GUYS.  I finally made it to BEA this year and it was so much fun!

**Note for most of the pictures I took them from the bloggers pictured with me.  I do not claim any of their pics as my own and I’ve linked back to everyone’s blog in this post.**

I decided to make one somewhat abbreviated post about who I met and what I picked up.  First up let’s chat about my roomies.

roomies1Gail from Ticket to Anywhere and Andi from Andi’s ABCs

roomies2

Me and Sarah from What Sarah Read (I’m on the right)

marissa

Roomie pic with the lovely Marissa Meyer at the Macmillan Party

Not only did they welcome me into their BEA group, they took the time to check on me, help me out with directions, pick up books that I couldn’t make the lines for, AND they brought me gifts.  I couldn’t have asked for a better welcome into the BEA scene.  I cannot thank these lovely ladies enough for being some of the sweetest people I met last week.  Speaking of sweethearts I met last week. . .

NEW (IRL) FRIENDS

jessJess @ Gone with the Words I adore her so much.  She was beyond awesome and I need to get out to Houston to visit her soon. (Maybe I can wrangle a wedding invite if she sets a date :P)  She went above and beyond and thought of my co-blogger while she was picking up books.  Also, she had a pretty epic roommate situation.

me2

Candice @ The Grown Up YAThis girl waited over an hour for me at the airport (flight delays) so that we could ride into the city together AND brought me Grisha swag.  She is also now the first official blogger I met IRL that I chat with on a regular basis.

alyssaAlyssa @ Books Take You Places Ah, my villainous twin.  We’ve finally met IRL and I hope to get to hang out with her more in the future.

sandieSandie @ Teen Lit Rocks Probably one of the nicest blogger friends I have, she convinced me to buy a ticket (it didn’t take much I admit) to Rainbow’s breakfast on the Friday of BEA and it was a great decision!

sjkSarah, Jamie from Perpetual Page Turner and me!

groupDanielle from Love At First Page, me, Sarah, Asheley from Into the Hall of Books, and Lauren from Love is Not a Triangle –Though I had never met these girls before it felt 100% natural being around them.  They were one of best parts of the trip and I hope to see them again soon!  We WILL have to find adjoining rooms or rent a house, something.

ROOMIE GIFTS:

mug1mug2

 

Gail gave me this adorable mug with our roomie blog logos and pics of NYC.

sarahgiftSarah gave me all these lovelies (the cup has my name on it too!)  Of course she also bought NYC Craftedvan bookmarks and I LOVE THEM.  And did you see the May Designs notebook?  It is in my favorite colors!

andi

Last but not least was my gift from Andi.  Did you see the awesome notebook she made?  What about my lanyard with blog name?  Everyone loved it!  I’ve already started adding buttons and will definitely be adding my Perkins ones as well.  Something tells me Andi would approve. 😛

BOOK HAULS

I tried to restrain myself because even though this was my first BEA it wasn’t my first day blogging.  I know I won’t read everything out there and frankly it is a lot of work hauling these books around and then to pay for shipping, etc. So let’s see what I picked up. . .

DAY ONE HAUL:

onehaul

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (signed)

Uprooted by Lynne Reid Banks

Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales

Those Girls by Lauren Saft

I Regret Nothing by Jen Lancaster (signed)

Court of Fives by Kate Elliott

The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecher (signed)

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

DAY TWO HAUL:

daytwo

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith

This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee (gifted from Gail)

We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist (gifted from Sandie)

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman (picked up by Gail for me!)

I Crawl Through It by A. S. King

Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid (picked up by Gail for me!)

The Cage by Megan Shepherd (signed)

Truly Madly Famously by Rebecca Serle (signed)

Blood Passage by Heather Demetrios (signed)

Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales (signed)

Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall

Firewalker by Josephine Angelini

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (signed)

Fairest by Marissa Meyer (signed)

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (signed)

DAY THREE  (+ DAY FOUR MORNING) HAUL:

daythree

Naughty Mabel by Nathan Lane & Devlin Elliott

Treasure Hunter:  Secrets of the Forbidden City by James Patterson

Fangirl Special Edition (Yellow) by Rainbow Rowell (trade @ BEA with Katie of the Bevys)

Fangirl Special Edition (Pink) by Rainbow Rowell (signed!)

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

A Curious Tale of the In-Between by Lauren DeStefano

Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

Beastly Bones by William Ritter

Dream Things True by Marie Marquardt

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

Zeroes by Scott Westereld

Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix

TOTES

totes

These are the ones I kept.  If someone missed out an a tote they really wanted or needed them for other reasons I was more than happy to share.  There was also one more I kept, a special one I made at the Bloomsbury breakfast. . .

toteA tote I made at the crafting table in the Bloomsbury office.  (Purple and gold only though.  I may have been in NYC just I am a Louisiana girl.)  Thank you ladies, my niece loved it!!

HIGHLIGHT OF MY TRIP:

It’s not secret I love Rainbow Rowell.  She is the reason I bought my ticket and made myself break the bank so to speak.  Thanks to my blogging bud Sandie I went to the breakfast she spoke at on the Friday AND got to meet her while she was signing her special edition of Fangirl.  I adore this woman more than words and cannot believe how lucky I am to have met her now.  I can only hope I get another change to chat with her again.

rainbowNBD.  Just me and Rainbow hanging out.

swagRainbow buttons!!! (and Lauren’s too, LOL)

Outside of BEA I didn’t really get to sight see any but we did do a TON of walking and picked up Magnolia cupcakes more than once.  Overall this was great trip and I’m thankful that was able to meet so many wonderful bloggers and authors.  I will definitely try to make it to another one.  Next year is in Chicago. . . .

 

So did you go to BEA?!  I hope I met you and if I didn’t it is just because I’m super bad with matching faces with blogs/twitter.  Please connect with me on twitter and remind me if I’m not already following you!  I want to chat so I can know who needs to go to the top of my priority list next time!!

~~**~~

kiki

11 thoughts on “BEA – New Friends and New Books

  1. Lauren {bookmarklit} June 5, 2015 at 11:53 am Reply

    Love your recap! It was fun to meet you IRL even though we didn’t really do much chatting online beforehand either 😉 I’m glad you had fun at your first BEA! It was my first too. Hopefully see you next year in Chicago??

    • Kristina June 5, 2015 at 12:06 pm Reply

      I still knew who you were. . .just took me a couple of minutes to link up twitter with my thought process, LOL. I’m hoping to go, just depends on cost and what not!

      On Fri, Jun 5, 2015 at 11:53 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  2. Andi ABCs June 5, 2015 at 1:04 pm Reply

    It is so fun to look at these and remember the fun week we all had. Let’s do again next week. 🙂

    • Kristina June 5, 2015 at 1:20 pm Reply

      WHEW. I think my feet need a few more weeks to recover!

      On Fri, Jun 5, 2015 at 1:04 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  3. Amanda June 5, 2015 at 1:37 pm Reply

    So fun! And Oh my goodness that crayon tote is SO cute. I need to preorder that book asap! Great pictures! I am in Chicago so I am counting down til BEA 2016 for my first time

    • Kristina June 5, 2015 at 2:01 pm Reply

      Oh that will be so nice to not have to travel much. JEALOUS! Even if they had in my state I’m sure I’d still have to rent a hotel, LOL.

      On Fri, Jun 5, 2015 at 1:37 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  4. Tee June 6, 2015 at 6:06 pm Reply

    So glad you had a blast. Wish I’d been there with you girls. Someday…sigh.

  5. ideklinz June 9, 2015 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Great recap and it was great to see/meet you in person!! You took away a great haul! Rainbow is so awesome and nice–glad you got a chance to see her!!

    • Kristina June 15, 2015 at 12:16 pm Reply

      ME TOO!! I hope to meet her again when (hopefully) it won’t be as crazy. LOL

      On Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 2:11 PM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

  6. Tiff @ Mostly YA Lit June 18, 2015 at 9:38 am Reply

    So nice to meet you, Kristina! WHY DIDN’T WE GET A PHOTO? I’m so glad you got to meet Rainbow, though, and that we got to chat a bit. Next time, drinks? =)

    • Kristina June 18, 2015 at 4:20 pm Reply

      I’m the worst at photos! We will def need to hang out again! Are you planning on going to ALAMW? I think I might be attempting that!

      On Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 9:38 AM, Gone Pecan wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

