Blog Tour: Hello, I Love You by Katie M Stout

hello

Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout

Grace Wilde is running—from the multi-million dollar mansion her record producer father bought, the famous older brother who’s topped the country music charts five years in a row, and the mother who blames her for her brother’s breakdown. Grace escapes to the farthest place from home she can think of, a boarding school in Korea, hoping for a fresh start.

She wants nothing to do with music, but when her roommate Sophie’s twin brother Jason turns out to be the newest Korean pop music superstar, Grace is thrust back into the world of fame. She can’t stand Jason, whose celebrity status is only outmatched by his oversized ego, but they form a tenuous alliance for the sake of her friendship with Sophie. As the months go by and Grace adjusts to her new life in Korea, even she can’t deny the sparks flying between her and the KPOP idol.

Soon, Grace realizes that her feelings for Jason threaten her promise to herself that she’ll leave behind the music industry that destroyed her family. But can Grace ignore her attraction to Jason and her undeniable pull of the music she was born to write? Sweet, fun, and romantic, this young adult novel explores what it means to experience first love and discover who you really are in the process.

SOURCE:  galley/finished copy sent by publisher for review

Today we are a stop on the blog tour for Hello, I Love You.  We will not only be reviewing but hosting a fancasting by Katie AND a giveaway!

REVIEW

OVERALL THOUGHTS: 

Grace Wilde is running away.  She has decided to transfer to an international school in Korea for her senior year in order to get away from all the drama back home in Tennessee.  Grace is the daughter of Stephen Wilde, a big time country music producer.  Grace has also seen the bad side of fame, people wanting to be close to her because of her family, like the ex-boyfriend she caught cheating on her, and she is ready to be known only for herself.

Grace is immediately welcomed to Korea by her adorable roommate, Sophie, who grew up in America, but has ties to Korea because her mom still lives there.  Sophie is close to her twin brother, Jason, who is a famous Korean pop star.  Grace initially wants nothing to do with Jason because he seems arrogant, but he and his band mates, Yoon Jae and Tae Hwa, soon become part of Grace’s inner circle.

Grace was a hard character to like.  She’s very closed off and judgmental, as well as being a bit of a snob.  She is also very inconsistent in her thoughts and actions.  One minute she’s sighing over how hot Jason is, but admonishing herself that she cannot like him and the next minute she gets upset when he seems to show signs that he might not be into her.  Grace has a lot of family issues that also hold her back and they play a big part of her acting the way she does.  I felt for her on some level, but more often she irritated me.

Jason, on the other hand, was just adorable.  I am a big softie for the strong, silent type, and he definitely fit the bill.  We don’t really know what’s going on in his head, at least not at first, but he has his own issues to deal with.  I do like the parallel that the author drew between Jason and Grace’s brother’s issues.  This made me understand Grace better, even if they didn’t exactly make me like her completely.

In the end, the book is sweet and I liked the romance that developed.  The story was unique and I found the characters to not be one-dimensional, which is always appreciated.  This book is being compared to other contemps, but it’s definitely has its own place and style.

FANCASTING

Please welcome Katie to the blog!  She is going to share some of her picks for a fan casting (something we all do when reading!)

~**~

I had a ton of fun fancasting my characters! Some of them were casted very early on in my brain while I was writing – I actually had two singers in mind while I was writing the rough draft of the book!

 

While these are who the characters look like in my head, I love hearing other people’s thoughts. or I’d love to hear who you think Grace, Jason, Sophie, and everyone else looks like, so hit me up on Twitter or Tumblr with your picks!

 Grace – Lily James

I’m a Lily James fan in general. (I mean, how can you not love her as Cinderella?!) Plus, I think she has the perfect hair for Grace. And girl’s got attitude, which totally fits my sassy, broken protagonist.

 grace2
SOURCE

Jason – Jung Yonghwa

Yonghwa was actually the first character I casted in my head. I knew while I was still rough drafting that he was who Jason looked like. Actually, if you’ve ever seen the Korean drama Heartstrings, you may recognize some of the outfits I describe Jason wearing as ones he wore in that drama. I just loved those sweaters and colorful shoes so much!

jason1

SOURCE

Sophie – IU

Sophie is another character I knew early on who I would cast. IU has been one of my favorite KPOP singers since I saw her in the drama Dream High, and I think she perfectly embodies Sophie’s sweetness and charm.

sophie2

SOURCE

Yoon Jae – Ok Taecyeon

I wanted Yoon Jae to be really striking, where you turn your head when he walks by. I also wanted him to have a little bit of a baby face. Really, there’s no one else I could choose for him besides Taecyeon, who’s both super hot and super cute. And really, he’s perfect for the character I would have chosen to date if I were Grace. 😉

yoonjae1

SOURCE

Tae Hwa – Seungri

Seungri is one of the hottest guys in KPOP, I think (despite his scandals). And I had to choose someone great for Sophie, who’s probably my favorite character in the whole book. Really, I maybe had too much fun looking for good pictures of him…

taehwa2

SOURCE

Thanks Katie for sharing your fancasting with us!  Who would you cast in Hello, I Love You?

giveaway

 

Want to win a copy of Hello, I Love You?  Just follow the rafflecopter link below.  Ends 6/16 @ 12am.  US AND CANADA ONLY.  Good luck!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Want to buy the book?  Learn more about Katie?  Check out these links!!

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZONBarnes & Noble l Books-A-Million l IndieBound l iBooks

Stout, Katie_CREDIT Brenna B PhotographyCredit:  Brenna B Photography

Katie’s Social Media

Goodreads l Website l Twitter l Tumblr l Pinterest

Spotify Playlist for Hello, I Love You

Thanks for stopping by our spot on the tour!

K&D

 

One thought on “Blog Tour: Hello, I Love You by Katie M Stout

  1. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook June 9, 2015 at 11:20 am Reply

    I liked Hello, I Love You. I didn’t love it, and honestly, I’ve forgotten most of it. I do think that Katie would frustrate me at times.

Leave a Reply

