The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

witchYour greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

SOURCE:  signed ARC picked up at BEA

Story Breakdown:

Orphaned at a young age all Elizabeth has known is that she wants to remain with her best friend Caleb.  Following in his footsteps she becomes a witch hunter; arresting people who break the law by practicing magic.  After being accused of witchcraft herself she finds her life turned completely around and her world taken from her as she is forced to trust and help the very people she’s spent her life training to take down.

Character Highlights:

Elizabeth – Like most teen girls in YA books I found her a bit too sassy at times but with her circumstances I think that is forgivable.  My girl is dealing with a lot!

Nicholas – I can you tell based on the blurbs he was not what I expected.

Caleb – Nothing really shocking here.  I won’t reveal any spoilers but I think I knew where this part of the story was going pretty early on.

John – You know nothing Jon. . .oh wait wrong Jon but equally as charming character.  I would have definitely liked to spend a bit more time with him and I just read that he has a novella coming out in a few months (??) so YAY!!

Overall Thoughts:

The cover art is a bit off-putting, very similar to the Deathly Hallows which made me compare WH not only to HP but based on some of the other scenes and characters, several other series I’ve read which made it hard to separate at times and come into the story with fresh eyes.  Now with that being said, I still enjoyed the story as a whole.  I loved Elizabeth’s little band of wizardry and magic and see so much potential for this series to really take off.  I’m already casting my vote for a certain comedic relief character to have their own storyline!

4/5

kiki

One thought on “The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

  1. Brittany June 23, 2015 at 11:23 pm Reply

    I also thought the cover was reminiscent of the Deathly Hallows!! I’m so glad I’m not alone in this =D Great review!

Leave a Reply

