Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson

rebel

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson

A sixteen-year-old governess becomes a spy in this alternative U.S. history where the British control with magic and the colonists rebel by inventing.

It’s 1888, and sixteen-year-old Verity Newton lands a job in New York as a governess to a wealthy leading family—but she quickly learns that the family has big secrets. Magisters have always ruled the colonies, but now an underground society of mechanics and engineers are developing non-magical sources of power via steam engines that they hope will help them gain freedom from British rule. The family Verity works for is magister—but it seems like the children’s young guardian uncle is sympathetic to the rebel cause. As Verity falls for a charming rebel inventor and agrees to become a spy, she also becomes more and more enmeshed in the magister family’s life. She soon realizes she’s uniquely positioned to advance the cause—but to do so, she’ll have to reveal her own dangerous secret.

SOURCE:  ARC from publisher for review (Thank you!)

LINKS:  GOODREADS  l  SHANNA SWENDSON

Story Breakdown: 

After the death of her mother, Verity seeks to make her way into the world as she does not have the best relationship with her father.  She quickly finds employment as a governess to a very well off family and friends in the rebels fighting against the very people she works for.  Slowly convinced things are not as civil as they seem to be she becomes a spy on behalf of the rebels and discoveries much about her mystery employer along the way.

Character Highlights:

Verity – I still love this name every time I see it in a book.  This should be on a baby name list somewhere in 2015.  Overall she was

* There are many other characters but I felt talking more about them and giving too many opinions would actually be too spoilery so they were left out of my review.*

Overall Thoughts:

This book was a lot of fun and reminded me that I should read more steampunk.  There were some fabulously described outfits I would LOVE to see illustrated and some grand adventures that in my honest opinion are a part of one of the most original book ideas I’ve read about in a while.  With that being said, there were a few issues with RM for me and it was all plot driven.  When I was more than halfway through the book I felt that the majority of the relationships (both platonic and romantic) were not developed enough and after finishing I think some things were wrapped up a bit too neatly and others were still not addressed at all.  There was also something brought up in the first chapter that I felt like was a HUGE part of the back story and it was treated as more of an afterthought and briefly mentioned again towards the end.  To me this is a big deal and left me a little wary to continue but at the same time AM I RIGHT?!  I guess I will just have to pick up book two and find out!

This is a must read for tinkers, steampunk enthusiasts, and anyone with a love of adventure!

3/5

kiki

Leave a Reply

