Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

walk

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

Lee Westfall has a secret. She can sense the presence of gold in the world around her. Veins deep beneath the earth, pebbles in the river, nuggets dug up from the forest floor. The buzz of gold means warmth and life and home—until everything is ripped away by a man who wants to control her. Left with nothing, Lee disguises herself as a boy and takes to the trail across the country. Gold was discovered in California, and where else could such a magical girl find herself, find safety? Rae Carson, author of the acclaimed Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy, dazzles with this new fantasy that subverts both our own history and familiar fantasy tropes.

SOURCE:  ARC from publisher for review

LINKS:  GOODREADS  l  RAE CARSON

Character Highlights:

Leah/Lee – I like a girl who wants to make it on her own and doesn’t feel the need to have a man just for the sake of having one.  She wants someone to want her but wants to be her own person too.  My kind of people for sure.

Jefferson – Have you seen The Last of the Mohicans? I picture a young Uncas and I like what I see.  I will say his quick actions at the beginning were a bit surprising and off-putting but I just had to remember the time and place they were to understand his choices.

Overall Thoughts:

When I read this one I admit freely I expectedly something completely different that what I read.  I expected more romance and for a while I felt a bit “gipped” so to speak.  Then I sat down and thought about how Rae’s first series started and I let all of my preconceived notions go and just enjoyed the rest of the book.  WoEaS was a fantastic and vivid read that made me feel like I was in an old western movie.  I can’t say if this is truly authentic since I admit freely I do not know a ton about that era but it definitely felt more so than a few other western themed books I’ve read is the past.  There were some tough people to take on that journey and you saw so much character growth I didn’t miss the romance quite as much (though I still want it, LOL).  I’m anxiously awaiting book two to find out where we go from here!

4/5

kristina

2 thoughts on “Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

  1. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook August 24, 2015 at 11:20 am Reply

    I picked this one up at BEA, but haven’t read it. I’m glad to hear you really enjoyed it, even with the small amount of romance.

  2. shane @ Itching for Books August 25, 2015 at 11:42 am Reply

    An old western movie? Okay. I’m curious. I like strong female characters too so that’s also a plus. Great review. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

