Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

vengence

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there’s room for love in a heart so full of hate.

SOURCE: ARC via publisher for review (Thank you!)

LINKS:  GOODREADS  l  ERIN BOWMAN

Character Highlights:

Kate/Nate –  I like a good female lead that isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty and honor her family.  It was nice to read about a girl who didn’t need to be shown how to take care of herself, we need more of that all around!

Jesse –  I could take him or leave him.  There were certain actions that I know I saw comments on from several other bloggers that leave me to believe I am not alone in my feelings.  Part of said events happened off page and I would have liked to had a chapter or two from Jesse’s POV to see first hand what happened since I think this could have swayed my opinion here.

Rose Riders – I think we could have used a few POV chapters from the gang’s leader and/or more interaction with Kate/Nate here if only to help better understand the back story.  When we do get the information regarding why everything happened it felt a little rushed to me so even just another chapter here might have helped me digest all of the information given.

Overall Thoughts:

1000% more action than I thought this would have had based on the blurb and a lot more death so this one was surprising in a very good way.  It looks like YA westerns might be the new fad and based on what I’m reading I think I’m a fan.  This is a genre that can be extremely captivating if given the right motivation and this one sure caught my attention.  I hope to see more westerns soon!

4/5

kristina

One thought on “Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

  1. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) September 11, 2015 at 6:27 pm Reply

    I just got this one from the library. I’m excited to read it. I can definitely get behind the YA western thing, too. Glad you enjoyed this one!

Leave a Reply

