First & Then by Emma Mills

first

First & Then by Emma Mills 

 Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best  friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future  after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

SOURCE:  ARC from publisher for review (Thank you!)

LINKS:  GOODREADS  l  EMMA MILLS

Character Highlights:

Devon – She definitely took her time getting over her issues but I loved that she tried her best to support her “brother”.

Cas-  I can say that his portion of the story didn’t quite play out like I thought it would. . . I kept thinking if a certain twist might have happened this story might have gone a whole other direction.

Foster – Adorable.  Just adorable.  I’d love to come back to him in a few years for his senior year and see what he is up too.

Ezra – I love this name so much.  I think that made me attach to him a little early but overall he was a great character.  I think he might have benefited from a few chapters from his POV, or maybe a bit more dialogue in general.

Overall Thoughts:  First, let me start this by saying that I am writing this review while wearing a Pride and Prejudice shirt so I’m sort of fan and though contemporaries are not my strong suit when I heard the pitch of “Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights” I wanted to read this one.  Now with that being known, I basically read this one in one sitting (I do have to work people!) which is one the highest complements I can give to a contemp.  It was an adorable book, perfect thing to read to bring a smile to your face and restore your faith in young love.

 

4/5

 

kiki

One thought on “First & Then by Emma Mills

  1. ideklinz September 15, 2015 at 9:06 pm Reply

    Definitely am looking forward to this one! The cover is gorgeous and the synopsis sounds right up my alley!! Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

