Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

SoC

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

SOURCE:  ARC via publisher (THANK YOU!!!!)

Character Highlights:

Kaz –  I’m not going to lie, Dirtyhands caused me to have dirty thoughts about that name. That’s a great nickname to have in his line of business or really just in general I think since that would lead to such great stories.  Perfect balance of damaged good guy and villain right here.

Inej –  I think my favorite character right now in this series.  Did I tell you guys I took the which character are you test for this book and I was Inej?  My poor damaged (but far from broken) girl.

Nina –  This chick oozed sex appeal through the pages.  I can see where Matthias might be hung up on his feelings.  You can sense there is so much unspoken between them.

Jesper –  Who doesn’t love a sharp tongued sidekick?  He definitely lightened the mood at times and I think in a movie version he would be my favorite.

Wylan –  My quiet boy!  He’s still quite a mystery to me and I look forward to learning more about him soon.  (Hopefully?)

Matthias –  Our resident strong and silent type.  I think he brought a great balance to our ragtag group of characters.

Overall Thoughts: 

When I started to write my thoughts were half about the book while the other half were me gushing about Leigh Bardugo.  They kind of still are so you’ve been warned.  Bardugo’s writing is ridiculous.  It’s all-consuming.  There are so many memorable and moving quotes that if I got them all tattooed on my body I would look like the girl from Blind Spot. She writes characters that good or bad she hovers the line so well that I route for them regardless and fall in love with them as well.  There are some authors that are just in another realm and for me Leigh is one of them.

Six of Crows is like being back with everyone we loved from Shadow and Bone but better.  (Full disclosure:  I’ve been in love with this book since she read an excerpt last November in NOLA.) Not only do we get our world back but we get this incredible ragtag team of local thugs who fancy themselves badasses yet still seem to care about one another and others.  They might have a dented sense of loyalty but it is still there.  I adored everything about this book and every character.  Bardugo builds great suspense without pushing you too far with the alternating POVs adding to that.  It was a truly enjoyable read that left me both sure I knew what was happening and surprised when it went a completely different way.  I cannot wait to get back to these guys with book two!

5/5 – Was there any doubt?

kristina

 

One thought on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Kate @ Ex Libris (@ExLibris_Kate) October 26, 2015 at 9:00 am Reply

    Yes! Inej is kind of my favorite right now, too, although I loved everyone!

    Kate @ Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

