Lost Stars Blog Tour: Star Wars Inspired Makeup

Today I’m a part of the blog tour for Lost Stars by Claudia Gray hosted by The Irish Banana.

loststars

Lost Stars by Claudia Gray

About LOST STARS:

Star Wars meets Romeo and Juliet in this epic YA novel that follows two best friends who find themselves on opposite sides of the war between the Empire and the Rebellion.

This thrilling YA novel gives readers a macro view of some of the most important events in the Star Wars universe: from the purge of the Jedi in Episode III, to the beginnings of the rebellion in Star Wars Rebels, and through the fall of the Empire in Episodes IV-IV. Readers will experience these major moments through the eyes of two best friends who grow up in these troubling times, and find themselves on opposite sides of the war.

As with other Journey to Episode VII titles, hints about the upcoming film will be included in the narrative, as well a original, post-Episode VI content that sets up the new film.

DUAL NARRATIVE: Chapters alternate perspectives between our two protagonists – one a Rebel pilot, the other an Imperial officer. By exploring these two different worlds, readers will experience many of the major moments in the original Star Wars trilogy – from the destruction of the Death Star to the battle of Hoth – through these two characters’ eyes.

STAR WARS INSPIRED MAKEUP

When Hannah asked for an original freebie idea my first thought was makeup/eye shadow combos.  I’m a huge eye shadow and lip stick collector and for awhile now I’ve been thinking about different looks that would match with books or characters I’ve read but never actually sat down to work those thoughts out to form a post around them. After thinking about the Star Wars universe here are the out of this world combinations I came up with! (For the record all colors mentioned below are part of the MAC line.)

Hoth Girls Are Easy – When I think about Hoth I see blues, whites, neutrals, less is more here for sure.  For a lip I went with a nude matte called Kinda Sexy and for the eyes I went with (from top to bottom) Crystal Avalanche, Tilt, Moon’s Reflection, and Freshwater.  I think this look would call for a very dramatic winged look (or as I refer to it, my every day look) but I’d go with a deep grey shade.

hoth

Jedi Envy – Jedis for me I associate with more a green base.  When I wear any green shadows my go to for my lip is Men Love Mystery, a bright purple matte lip stick.  For the eyes (top to bottom) I went with Sour Lemon, Cool Heat, and Deep Truth.  This would be a favorite look for me and I think they might need a navy liner but keep the winged eye look.

jedi

Now what about the dark side?  I haven’t left them out as my heart has a soft spot for villains.

Dark Side of the Death Star – When I think of Vader, the Death Star, etc I immediately think blacks and silvers.  For the lip though I needed something t contract the darkness of the eye so for the lip I went with Heroine (matte again, we don’t want anything to glossy) and for the eyes (top to bottom) I picked Idol Eyes, Electra, Knight Devine, and Black Tied.  Black cat eyes all the way for liner.  It will need to be dark and VERY noticeable.

star

Sith Up and Listen – Reds were a gimme here.  For the lip I went with Russian Red (another matte, surprised?) For the eyes (top to bottom) I picked Basic Red, Beauty Marked, and Carbon.  Liner wise I’d stick with my winged look in black since I don’t know when the dark side wouldn’t want MORE darkness but here I think a double winged eye would make all the difference.

sith

I can say after picking the colors based on my personal thoughts and then going back to write down the names I think most of them are very fitting to the selections!

About CLAUDIA GRAY:
1192311

Claudia Gray is not my real name. I didn’t choose a pseudonym because my real name is unpleasant (it isn’t), because I’d always dreamed of calling myself this (I haven’t) or even because I’m hiding from the remnants of that international diamond-smuggling cartel I smashed in 2003 (Interpol has taken care of them). In short, I took a pseudonym for no real reason whatsoever. Sometimes this is actually the best reason to do things.

I live in New Orleans. So far, in life, I’ve been a disc jockey, a lawyer, a journalist and an extremely bad waitress, just to name a few. I especially like to spend time traveling, hiking, reading and listening to music. More than anything else, I enjoy writing.

 
GIVEAWAY:
Follow the following link to enter to win A Disney Star Wars prize pack! (US Only)
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

kristina

3 thoughts on “Lost Stars Blog Tour: Star Wars Inspired Makeup

  1. danielle hammelef November 20, 2015 at 11:54 am Reply

    Claudia Gray is a very talented author. Thanks for the post and giveaway!

  2. rhireading November 22, 2015 at 11:07 am Reply

    Clever post idea, I always think more earthy colors for Jedi myself but I really dig all the brights you went with too.

  3. Jennifer Y. November 23, 2015 at 1:42 am Reply

    I love the names for the collections! “Sith up and Listen” makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

