Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kate McGovern

rules

Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kate McGovern

Seventeen-year-old Rose Levenson has a decision to make: Does she want to know how she’s going to die? Because when Rose turns eighteen, she can take the test that tells her if she carries the genetic mutation for Huntington’s disease, the degenerative condition that is slowly killing her mother.

With a fifty-fifty shot at inheriting her family’s genetic curse, Rose is skeptical about pursuing anything that presumes she’ll live to be a healthy adult-including her dream career in ballet and the possibility of falling in love. But when she meets a boy from a similarly flawed genetic pool and gets an audition for a dance scholarship across the country, Rose begins to question her carefully laid rules.

SOURCE:  ARC via publisher for review

Character Highlights:

Rose –  Very relatable.  I see so much of myself and my struggles as of late through her. It is a hard thing stepping into a hybrid parenting role for a parent.

Caleb – Mostly adorable but there were times I was a bit frustrated with him.  I think a few chapters in his POV might have curbed some of that.

Overall Thoughts:

While I’m far from a teenager I can 100% attest to the accuracy behind this book.  Being someone who has recently lost a parent I understood Rose’s issues with committing to colleges that could bring her farther away from her family as well as her guilt in having any fun while her mother is at home only getting worse.  It is more of the norm for a parent to go before a child obviously but to be such a young age, heck even at my age I still think I’m way too young for this. . . it makes a mark.  It shapes your future whether you think it does or not.

There were several points while reading where I either teared up or found myself nodding along with Rose.  The blow up she has with her friends?  I’ve been there.  The argument with her father?  Yep.  It is a very hard thing to find balance for your family to attempt to function as normally as possible while trying to care for your loved one. Frankly, it is exhausting and Rose did pretty well if I do say so myself.  Ms McGovern nailed the family dynamic.

I honestly do not think I’ve ever read a more truthful book.  This was wonderfully diverse and well written look into illness dealt with as a family and a must read for anyone going through or that has went through a loss at a young age and struggling with the emotions that follow.  I look forward to reading more from Ms McGovern in the future.

4.5/5

kristina

One thought on “Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kate McGovern

  1. Alexa S. (@alexalovesbooks) November 24, 2015 at 12:18 pm Reply

    I definitely felt like Rules for 50/50 Chances was so raw and real. It was the one quality of the novel that really stood out to me, in the end, and made it such an incredible + emotional reading experience.

Leave a Reply

