Into the Dim by Janet B Taylor

dim

Into the Dim by Janet B Taylor

When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission . . . or the key to Hope’s undoing. 

SOURCE:  ARC picked up at ALA

Character Highlights:

Hope – I have opinions on this one and though some are great some are not so much.  I love that she has an eidetic memory and how useful that can be but her phobias are where I had the issue.  I feel like her phobias were only there at times to drive the story when she needed to have a panic attack. When she was kicking ass as part of her team?  YES!  She’s alone for 2 minutes and all of a sudden is panic city?  NO!  By the end of the book she definitely grew on me and I was more comfortable where we left so I feel confident whenever I will go into book two my opinions will shift.

Bran – I’m both surprised and not at Bran.  He keeps you on your toes for a bit but in the end I felt I knew what would happen with him and I was right.  Vindication FTW!  In a time traveling book I think it is a small accomplishment to figure out part of the plan.

Overall Thoughts:

GUYS.  My name is in a book and I don’t mean my first name.  Though the spelling of my first it isn’t as common I mean my last name.  There aren’t many with my name outside of my area of the U.S. so to see it in a book mainly set in another country?  LOVE.  ITD was a fun story to read and kept me very interested while reading because I was able to into a part of history I’m not as familiar with.  The idea to be able to go back and witness some of the greatest events in history is a powerful draw and I look forward to continuing this story further!  I loved how Ms Taylor tied in past innovators and left so much open for the story to continue in any direction that there are so many possibilities.  Also, I’m hopeful and anxious that we will get more of the past story from when her mother traveled as a younger woman.

Though a bit on the larger side for a YA it does read quickly and this is an absolute must for any history and Outlander fans!

 

4/5

kristina

Leave a Reply

