A Week of Mondays Blog Tour: Best and Worst Mondays

AWOM_blogtour

Happy Monday, guys! I am pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Jessica Brody’s upcoming book, A Week of Mondays, presented by MacMillan. Today we’re talking about what our hypothetical best and worst Mondays would be.

Just to recap:

thumbnail_A Week of Mondays_Cover Image

Ellie is having the worst Monday of her life. She messes up her school speech for the class vice presidency position, she manages to take the world’s worst school picture, she bombs softball tryouts, and the icing on top of this awful cake: her perfect boyfriend who is in a high school rock band dumps her. At the end of the day, Ellie wishes she could redo everything. When she wakes up the next morning, she discovers that it’s Monday again! She has six more chances to redo the day in the hopes of having everything go exactly the way she wants. But in the process, she just may find out that what she really wants and what she actually needs are two very different things.

Please be sure to check out our guest post by Jessica Brody.

Let’s start off bad…

worst monday

My worst days always start with me sleeping poorly the night before, which makes me exhausted the next day. On this particular Monday, I need to wake up to do something important, like go to a job interview, but I wake up just slightly too late to have enough time to have time to prepare myself, both physically and mentally, as I should. So, I’m running late for an interview and I don’t look my best, which brings down my confidence and I end up blowing the interview. I need to go shopping, and I get stuck in the rain without an umbrella. Which is exactly when I run into someone I don’t like from high school, the one person who never fails to make me feel like a stupid, useless frump. Then I get stuck in traffic on my way home and am almost late to pick up my boys at the bus stop (I have lateness anxiety). When I finally get home, I find that my dog has had an anxiety attack and ripped apart a brand new sofa cushion (which causes a fight between me and my husband because this will inevitably be my fault). I don’t have the energy or drive to cook a decent meal and we all eat sandwiches or cereal, followed by my boys fighting with each other and unwilling to do their homework, which makes me blow my fuse. By this point, all I want is a little something to make my day end well, but I realize that I’ve cannot find the book I’ve been reading. So I try to distract myself with a little playing around on Facebook, where I see what I’ve been missing all day, that one of my favorite celebrities (maybe…JK Rowling or Keanu Reeves) has done something horrible and unforgivable and…then I break down in tears and go to sleep in the guest room.

But end on a positive note…

best monday

(Now, keep in mind that this is a fantasy.) I wake up to find that my husband has taken my boys somewhere, so I have the house to myself. I go for a run and I don’t get winded. I shower and get dressed to meet my family for breakfast. My family is in a great mood and no one is arguing with anyone. Everyone eats what is put in front of them. My husband says, “I have a surprise. My mom is keeping the boys and we’re going out of town.” We drop the boys off and book it to New Orleans. My husband has another surprise, he wants to read Harry Potter for the first time and he downloaded The Sorcerer’s Stone for our 3 hour trip. When we get to New Orleans, I realize that the hotel my husband booked is the Loew’s, which is where we were married. While in New Orleans, we walk around Jackson Square and the French Market, where we buy art from the local artists, drink hurricanes, eat poboys, and go for a carriage ride around the Garden District. After our ride, I am treated to a massage and a mani/pedi at the hotel, then I get a nap. We decide to walk around downtown and go have a few drinks, where we run into someone famous that I love, like Chris Pratt and Anna Faris, who invite us to sit with them. I don’t spaz out and we have a glorious evening and my hair doesn’t frizz in the humidity and my makeup doesn’t run. We leave the bar, getting hugs from our new friends, and exchange numbers, and get back to the hotel, where the A/C has kept the room at the perfect temperature.  <— Geez, this sounds like a great day! I wish it would miraculously happen.

daphne

 

Read the other posts on the tour by following the #AWeekofMondays and #TGIM on Twitter.

Follow the author @JessicaBrody

Leave a Reply

