Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

learning

Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

An asteroid is hurtling toward Earth. A big, bad one. Yuri, a physicist prodigy from Russia, has been called to NASA as they calculate a plan to avoid disaster. He knows how to stop the asteroid: his research in antimatter will probably win him a Nobel prize–if there’s ever another Nobel prize awarded. But Yuri’s 17, and having a hard time making older, stodgy physicists listen to him. Then he meets Dovie, who lives like a normal teenager, oblivious to the impending doom. Being with her, on the adventures she plans when he’s not at NASA, Yuri catches a glimpse of what it means to save the world and save a life worth living.

Source:  ARC via publisher for review

Character Highlights:

Yuri – I definitely felt the nerdy behavior coming through the pages so point to Ms Kennedy!  He was like an episode of Big Bang Theory in book form and I loved him.

Dovie – Dovie and her family are partly how I hoped I would have grown up.  No real restrictions but still showing respect.  Celebrating your own made up holidays and your differences (because it is ok to be your own person) while still being open to helping strangers when needed and just being a good person.

Overall Thoughts:

When I first heard about this one I knew I had to read it.  You guys know I’m so picky with contemporaries but this one appealed to my super nerdy I love Big Bang Theory science nerd side.  You know what else I loved that I didn’t even expect?  How light and funny the story still was despite the serious nature or impending doom, etc.  There was still an awkward date, weird teen interactions with adults, a dance, just normal every day fun activities that regardless of the possible outcome were still there and still felt important and valid.  This was a quick read that I think will appeal to the nerds in all of us.

4/5

kristina

One thought on “Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

  1. Jess I. August 2, 2016 at 1:46 pm Reply

    I read this a few weeks ago and gave it the same rating. I also loved Dovie’s family; they were so eccentric and happy! I also love how she is a curvy girl and her brother is disable–diversity :).

Leave a Reply

