The Graces by Laure Eve

graces

The Graces by Laure Eve

Everyone loves the Graces. Fenrin, Thalia, and Summer Grace are captivating, wealthy, and glamorous. They’ve managed to cast a spell over not just their high school but also their entire town—and they’re rumored to have powerful connections all over the world. If you’re not in love with one of them, you want to be them. Especially River: the loner, new girl at school. She’s different from her peers, who both revere and fear the Grace family. She wants to be a Grace more than anything. And what the Graces don’t know is that River’s presence in town is no accident.

SOURCE:  ARC provided by publisher for review

Character Highlights:

River – I found that her obsessive behavior practically jumped off the page at you at certain points so to me she was a very well written character.  I’m not going to lie to you, more than one I found myself saying “this bitch is crazy!” to myself.  (Obviously this kept me reading. LOL)

The Graces – I loved that we actually see the cloud around this family burst.  You see them from River’s eyes – how they are Gods among men to the people of their town but the more we dip into their lives you see they are just a dysfunctional family like most of the rest of the world. Granted they do have a few special “features” but overall just like everyone else when the air of mystery is gone.

Overall Thoughts:

You know if someone compares a book to the movie The Craft I want to read it.  (I BIND YOU NANCY!) I can tell you going into this book I assumed we would be getting the POV of the “Brenda” like character but after starting I felt like we were definitely following the Nancy of the book.  River read too much into things she saw, or thought she saw in the Graces that to me at times felt like they should have been obvious to her if she wouldn’t have been so far “out” there at the start.  I think that this element of the story might have felt like a smaller shift from unstable to slightly less crazy if we would have been privy to a bit more of her background on why she came to this town at littler earlier on in the story.

I won’t reveal the actual ending ( don’t worry!) but I can tell you it felt a bit 180 on both River and the Graces (great band name, no?).  For the events to happen as they did (again no spoilers, it’s ok!) it felt like a bit of a let down to get what to me was the equivalent of let bygones be bygones. With that being said I still liked where it ended, there were a couple of shocks, but I look forward to the follow-up novel and for possibly more background on River and understanding of her problems.  Overall this one was a quick and entertaining read that kept me drawn in, I hope you are too!

3/5

kristina

Leave a Reply

