Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

pirateking

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

 you want something done right . . .

When the ruthless pirate king learns of a legendary treasure map hidden on an enemy ship, his daughter, Alosa, knows there’s only one pirate for the job—herself. Leaving behind her beloved ship and crew, Alosa deliberately facilitates her own kidnapping to ensure her passage on the ship, confident in her ability to overcome any obstacle. After all, who’s going to suspect a seventeen-year-old girl locked in a cell? Then she meets the (surprisingly perceptive and unfairly attractive) first mate, Riden, who is charged with finding out all her secrets. Now it’s down to a battle of wits and will . . . . Can Alosa find the map and escape before Riden figures out her plan?

SOURCE:  ARC from publisher for review

Character Highlights:

Alosa – A strong female written the right way.  She knows her worth, had a hard go growing up but doesn’t let it slow her down, and can take care of herself no problem.  It was an absolute delight to see a female MC of this caliber.  WELL DONE.

Riden  I had a theory pretty early on about something in regards to an off hand comment he made which was confirmed towards the end so as always vindication was mine!!! (LOL) Riden was a little harder to crack for me overall but I loved that he was so smart and was great at thinking outside of the box.  He didn’t let emotions rule him completely.  Another spot on character.

ALL THE PIRATES – There were so many great secondary pirates running around that I’d love to know more about! I’m hopeful for more about them in the second book as I feel like we’ve barely scratched the surface . . . a girl can hope.

Overall Thoughts:
Within the first three pages (whether the author meant to or not) I saw references that made me think of both Pirates of the Caribbean and Hamilton and saw more than one woman in a position of power. If that isn’t a great start I don’t know what is. And if that wasn’t enough, throughout it the book gave me Princess Bride vibes.
It was very refreshing to see equal MCs, partners in both banter and fighting.  Ms Levensell didn’t dumb down Alosa to make Riden feel better and didn’t dim Riden’s talents to highlight Alosa.  It has been a long time since I came across a book that had such balanced leads and it made for a highly entertaining read.
I think DotPK overall showcased more characterization over world building which made it read more like a contemporary so I plowed through it fairly quickly so if you aren’t a big fantasy reader I still think you would enjoy this one.  I look forward to diving back into this world, here’s hoping on sooner rather than later.
PICK IT UP.
4/5

kristina

 

3 thoughts on “Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

  1. Mandy January 17, 2017 at 11:05 am Reply

    I’ve been eager for this book for months, but the moment that you said that it gave you Princess Bride feels, you had me sold! Definitely will be picking this one up. Great review (and it’s the first time I found your blog, but I love your background graphics – so pretty)! 🙂

  2. Morgan @ Gone with the Words January 20, 2017 at 1:07 pm Reply

    Awesome review! I felt the same way, I was pulled in by the 3rd page. Alosa reminded me of Elizabeth Swann mixed with a better version of Celaena from Throne of Glass, I loved her! And the other pirates; you’re right, she did focus on characterization (and action), which I loved. Can’t wait to see where the story goes!

  3. […] Gone Pecan – “I plowed through it fairly quickly“ […]

Leave a Reply

