This Is Really Happening by Erin Chack

This Is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack provides a collection of personal essays for the Snapchat generation.

Erin recounts everything from meeting her soulmate at age 14 to her first chemotherapy session at age 19 to what really goes on behind the scenes at a major Internet media company.

She authentically captures the agony and the ecstasy of the millennial experience, whether it’s her first kiss (“Sean’s tongue! In my mouth! Slippery and wet like a slug in the rain.”) or her struggles with anxiety (“When people throw caution to the wind, I am stuck imagining the poor soul who has to break his back sweeping caution into a dustpan”).

Yet Erin also offers a fresh perspective on universal themes of resilience and love as she writes about surviving cancer, including learning of her mother’s own cancer diagnosis within the same year, and her attempts to hide the diagnosis from friends to avoid “un-normaling” everything.

SOURCE:  ARC via publisher for review (Thanks!)

I’m not normally a non-fiction gal but when I saw the blurb for this book I knew I needed to read it.  Anything involving a cancer diagnosis for a parent I immediately feel a kinship with the author and want to know more.  Now with that being said, this is a book of essays – so I figured I would approach a review a little differently.  Instead of an overall review I thought I’d give a quick thought to each one as I finished, what I felt immediately after.  Or since Erin writes for Buzzfeed. . .

 11 Thoughts I Had When Reading This Is Really Happening. Enjoy!

Girl-Shaped Tornado – Interesting to see the other side of a cancer reveal. Your friends and family tell you but you don’t think of the countless times someone will have to go through repeating the same news to others.

Bury Me with Poison Ivy – Adorable meet cutes and I’m over here trying to pretend love is dead. Ugh.

Don’t Read the Comments – Love Buzzfeed! It’s a staple every day whether at home or work. (They label things NSFW for a reason) I am over 30 and I’m jealous.  Maybe they will let me visit on a puppy day?

Rena or Bear? – ROAD TRIP!  To be honest I’m jealous of the carefree, no plan road trippers.  I’m way to paranoid to stay with people I don’t know even a little and this was a fun,happy story of what’s right and good in our country.  Also, YAY for Louisiana being a Rena!

It’ll Grow Back – It’s amazing how attached we are to things. Hair. We don’t want it in some areas but don’t touch my head! Also, I know the feeling of hearing a parent’s diagnosis. Though I couldn’t feel her pain I saw the toll I took and it was heartbreaking.  For me I wasn’t told as more stumbling upon my mom crying alone because they called to tell her instead bringing her into the office with a family member.  Something to this day I hold a grudge against her doctor for.

A Sea of Kates – Everyone has THAT friend. The Luna Lovegood of friends. Hahaha

Find your Carrot – Another cute relationship tale. SIGH. Millennials are so gross they are cute. Sometimes.  Wait, technically I’m on the fringe of millennial age.  AM I A MILLENIAL?!

Why I Can Never Visit Egypt – While this was a hilarious adventure to read about it is also one I never want to go on. Lol

Greener Pastures – This one hit close to home as I watched my mom go through hospice and the three-year cancer battle before it. Ok? Ok.

Urine Trouble – How do people remember this much detail in childhood memories? I can barely remember what I was doing 10 minutes ago.

Memento Mori – Fun lesson on saying yes and taking chances. You might meet someone who becomes a life long friend or at least an influence on your life.

This Is Really Happening was a mostly fun, (let’s be real, death and dying shouldn’t be a fun or exciting read – just real) quick read that I think any reader would enjoy and relate to some if not all of Erin’s stories.  Life is an adventure, don’t forget that.

4/5

Leave a Reply

