Simon vs the Homo sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

SOURCE:  originally an ARC via publisher, reread via library finished copy

Character Highlights:

Simon – Oh Simon.  He is absolutely adorable and so loyal to Blue without knowing who he is which caused me to have a proud mama moment even though I’m neither his creator or his mom.  LOL  Loyalty is a huge thing for me and for Simon to show this side of himself so willingly was so wonderful.

Blue – BLUE!!  How cute were those emails?!  His banter with Simon caused quite a bit of infectious happiness and hope.  How many times can I say adorable in this review?

Overall Thoughts:

I first read Simon ages ago though for the life of me I cannot remember why I didn’t review it.  I loved it obviously since I reread it and I’m reviewing now but who knows what past me was thinking because it wasn’t right.  Also, it helped as a refresher for The Upside of Unrequited, a companion novel in the loosest definition of the word.

First reaction?  Still so stinking adorable, just as much as if I’d read it for the fist time.  I LOVE books that consist of letters or emails back and forth because not only do I feel like I can fly through the book in one sitting but I also get the sense of connection with two characters on a level I wouldn’t have necessarily.
end of Chapter 18?  WARM FUZZIES.

There are so many great thoughts here – about equality and what is deemed “the norm” to others, how there shouldn’t be a standard that people feel less than for anything – everyone is and should be different.  I think this makes Simon such a great read for people who may not have a lot of experience with other orientations, races, or religions.  It shows you as they are – human beings that are wonderful and diverse and worth just as much as anyone else.

I look forward to finally being able to pick up the companion novel now that everything is fresh in my mind and I’m super pumped for the movie which if you follow Becky online you know has got to be hands down the most spectacular casting I’ve seen in quite some time.
WHOOT!!!
4/5
One thought on “Simon vs the Homo sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Morgan @ The Bookish Beagle May 30, 2017 at 12:36 am Reply

    This book is the most adorable! I really want to reread it, I remember loving the emails too 🙂 Upside was good too and i can’t WAIT for the Simon movie!!

Leave a Reply

