The Forgotten Book by Mechthild Glaser

The Forgotten Book by Mechthild Glaser

Emma is used to things going her way. Her father is headmaster of her prestigious boarding school, her friends take her advice as gospel, and she’s convinced that a relationship with her long-time crush is on the horizon. 

As it turns out, Emma hasn’t seen anything yet. When she finds an old book in an abandoned library, things really start going Emma’s way: anything she writes in the book comes true. 

But the power of the book is not without consequences, and Emma soon realizes that she isn’t the only one who knows about it. Someone is determined to take it from her—and they’ll stop at nothing to succeed.

A new boy in school—the arrogant, aloof, and irritatingly handsome Darcy de Winter—becomes Emma’s unlikely ally as secrets are revealed and danger creeps ever closer.

SOURCE:  ARC via publisher for review (Thanks!)

OVERALL THOUGHTS:

This was my second book by Ms Glaser, also the second book that had a magical book in it.  Keep writing about magical books and I will keep coming back.  Also, in addition to the magical book?  A modern-day Pride and Prejudice retelling?  SIGN ME UP.

While I liked the book I didn’t love it.  Emma really upset me with her lack of regard in using the book especially once she saw how literal the book could take things and for this reason I don’t feel like I ever sided with her.  I do realize she is a teen and I’m not holding that against her – I just think once she saw/made the connection to what was happening her angsty teen feelings should have taken a back seat so to speak to people’s actual safety.  I will say that once we find out what actually is happening the book changed pace and I really enjoyed it moving on from that point but it was such a small part of the overall story that it felt rushed and I was sad we didn’t get more of the back story there.

Fans of Pride and Prejudice or light magical realism will enjoy this one for sure.

3/5

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: