Contemporary · SERIES · Thriller/Horror · YA · YA Series

The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

fixer

The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

SOURCE:  finished copy from local library

Story Breakdown:

After years of being ignored by her older sister, Tess finds herself suddenly pulled from the life she has always known to move across the country to live with her sister Ivy, a D.C. mover and shaker.  Tess goes from farms and barns to fancy schools and state dinners.  Soon after arriving she helps a fellow (and very VIP) classmate out of a situation and finds herself with a reputation like the sister she doesn’t know.  Now she is known for making problems go away and who would have thought so many well off families would have so many issues?

Memorable Quotes:

A teenage girl with diplomatic immunity and a fondness for dares.  That won’t end well.

I can’t help it if I recognize your true ruthless nature.

Don’t think of this as a heart-to-heart.  Think of is as a negotiation.

We were family because I would always love her more than I hated her.

Character Highlights:

Tess & Ivy – These ladies are listed together because frankly I see so much of myself in both of them I had the same thoughts on both.  I adored their characters and look forward to learning more about them as the series progresses.  Anyone that can negotiate themselves out of (or in to) something are kindred spirits for me.

Asher – You know when someone is called a loveable scamp?  Asher is the perfect example of this name.  He fits it to a tee.  He somehow cannot stay out of trouble but nothing truly horrible ever happens and you can’t help but smile as he worms his way out of a situation.

Overall Thoughts:

The idea behind this book intrigued me awhile back but I had been putting off reading it as I’m not a huge contemp fan as you guys know.  I used to watch Scandal but might have given up when Olivia uttered the most ridiculous line I’ve ever heard.  I get you choose yourself Olivia but stop being an adulterer and let’s move on! (SIGH.)  I’ve always fancied myself a sort of fixer or even a Red (Shawshank Redemption anyone?) and hands down Ivy and Tess are some of the most relatable characters for me.  I tell me boss all the time that everything is a negotiation and constantly strive to be the person people come to for help.

This book was quite a rollercoaster ride, surprising me with reveals more than once and constantly making me jump to conclusions on where the story might go next.   There were honestly multiple occasions when I said to myself “Where did that come from?!” as the plot shift hadn’t even occurred to me.  A truly enjoyable, fast paced read that I read in two days which is one of the highest compliments I can pay a contemporary book.  I absolutely cannot wait to read book two and thankfully I won’t have to wait long!

4.5/5

kristina

 

2 thoughts on “The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Leave a comment