Adult Series · Brown Chicken Brown Cow · Contemporary · LOL · Review · Romance · SERIES

Two of a Kind by Susan Mallery (Fool’s Gold #11)

Two of a Kind (Fool's Gold, #11)

Felicia Swift never dreamed she’d hear a deep, sexy voice from her past in tiny Fool’s Gold, California. The last time Gideon Boylan whispered in her ear was half a world away…on the morning after the hottest night of her life. Her freaky smarts have limited her close friendships, and romance, but she came to Fool’s Gold looking for ordinary. Gorgeous, brooding Gideon is anything but that. 

Black Ops taught Gideon that love could be deadly. Now he pretends to fit in while keeping everyone at arm’s length. Felicia wants more than he can give-a home, family, love-but she has a lot to learn about men…and Gideon needs to be the man to teach her. 

As these two misfits discover that passion isn’t the only thing they have in common, they just might figure out that two of a kind should never be split apart.

Source: ARC through Harlequin/Netgalley for review purposes

Characters:

Felicia is new to Fool’s Gold, just like most of the characters in this newest set of books set in the town.  She’s a former Army logician and has been asked by Mayor Marsha to take over running the town’s many, many festivals.  Felicia feels out of place in the world because she’s very smart and was taken away from her family at a young age to be studied in an academic setting.  Not only is she a genius, she’s also very socially awkward.  Felicia thinks and speaks in a very literal way and finds a hard time fitting in, so she goes to Gideon, with whom she has a history, to ask him to help her learn to be in a relationship because she would eventually like to settle down, get married, and have children, only she has no idea how to accomplish this because she hasn’t been exposed to a good model of it.

Gideon owns the radio stations in town, but he’s new to the area, as well.  He is struggling with PTSD after being caught by the Taliban and tortured for two years before he was ultimately rescued.  He was the only one to survive and believes that the men with him that didn’t make it died because they felt love and a connection to someone that their kidnappers could exploit.  So to Gideon, to love is to die.  When he runs into Felicia four years after their interesting first encounter, he wants to keep her at arms length, but her innocence and open heart has him wanting to pull her close.

Overall Thoughts:

I finished Just One Kiss (Fool’s Gold #10; 4/5) and immediately wanted to grab this book because we are introduced to Felicia, who is so socially awkward and charming, I couldn’t wait to get to know her.  If you are at all familiar with my reading choices, you know I love me some socially awkward women (kindred spirits & all that). I think that each book in the series is better and better than the last and this is no exception. Felicia was a joy to read about and get to know, she was so open and honest and, again, literal, that I wanted to be her friend and help her to navigate the complexities of the world. I wanted to protect her from those who saw her as strange and maybe beat the crap out of them, or even just look at them with mean eyes.  Gideon, with all his issues, was a great guy who didn’t think he was capable of love and it didn’t seem that there was anything that could change his mind.  As much as he liked Felicia, it didn’t seem that he would ever submit himself in that way.  So there’s a big dramatic thing that happens about halfway through the book that there is no way of knowing is coming, but it realistically made a way for him to, um, without sounding flip, get over himself. I also want to say that I am very excited to read more about the secondary story in this book, about Consuela Ly, Felicia’s friend and an assoicate of Ford and Justice, which will be fleshed out more in the next book, but she’s not a main character (the next book is about Ford and Isabel). So, yes, I loved this book, particulary Felicia, and I would definitely recommend it to people who like chick lit with a little hanky panky going on. The end was a little…fluffy and cheesy, but I didn’t mind because I wanted Felicia  and Gideon to have their happy ending.

4.5/5

9 thoughts on “Two of a Kind by Susan Mallery (Fool’s Gold #11)

  1. Between you + Estelle (Rather Be Reading), I’m convinced I’m missing out by not reading the Fool’s Gold series. I definitely want to give it a try – if only so I can only get to this book, with it’s socially awkward MC and cute-sounding romance!

  2. Fool’s Gold is a great Series!! Susan Mallery created a fantastic character with Felicia, her textbook and clinical dialogue was outstanding! Gideon is definitely not looking for love, but simply cannot resist Felicia. Gideon and Felicia both find love and acceptance in Fool’s Gold. I love the ‘land of happy endings’. Loved your review

  3. Haha! I just left a comment on Rather Be Reading’s review of this book saying that I love socially awkward characters. I need to look into this one.

  4. Once again I am in love with Fools Gold. Susan has an awesome gift! With each story she builds the community while keeping the story unique. I love Gideon and Felicia. If I’m completely honest mostly Felicia, she is so painfully honest I adore her. My favorite to date.

  5. If you haven’t given this series a chance, do so! It’s not hard to fall in love with this town. Two of A Kind is my favorite book so far! I’m giddy for Gideon!

  6. I loved this book! This is my favorite so far! I love the Fool’s Gold Series and Gideon and Felicia Story was absolutely wonderful! I can’t want for the next one!

  7. Loved the story Of Felicia and Gideon. A few twists and turns makes for a fun read. Fool’s Gold books just keep getting better and better.

  8. Totally agree! I am interested to see where she takes Felicia’s friend Consuela Ly too. All i could think is I can’t wait to see what impact she is going to have in future books. I did not see that big impact coming that happened in the middle of this book but I was sure glad that she brought it into the story. I am very interested to see where she goes with this next book!

Leave a comment