Memes · TGIF

TGIF!

Big thanks to Ginger over @ GReads 🙂

Bookish Trends:  What are some bookish trends you are noticing in the literature world today?  Is there a particular trend you’d like to see more of?

 I’m by my lonesome on the post today, Dixie went to the midnight Hunger Games showing (the trash!) and is traveling today (be safe!).

 Let’s see . . . bookish trends . . . hmmmm.  Well obviously we have our dystopians cranking out all over the place, which in my opinion is awesome since that is absolutely my favorite genre right now.  Or we could go broader and say YA as a whole.  Everyone has to admit they has gotten crazy good over the past few years (perfect examples:  Hunger Games, Divergent, Article 5) and we all know it isn’t just teenagers reading them (I can use myself as the example here, hehe).

I would also say YA time travel books seem to have picked up.  I don’t know if I’m just starting to get into those or if they really are picking up but I loved Hourglass by Myra McEntire and Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier, both of which I reviewed for the blog.   Overall I’m just really happy authors are branching out from the standard werewolf and vampire novels, though don’t stop those I still read them too!!!

What about you guys?  Is there a genre I’m missing out on??  Tell me so I can add them to my TBR pile!!!

 ~Maggie

8 thoughts on “TGIF!

  1. I am in love with anything about time travel. It make s me think of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Henry. And that’s never a bad thing.

  2. I know YA books are fairly new, but I don’t really see them as a trend because I think they’re here to stay. And they’re doing even better than adult books in terms of sales, I think. (Someone suggested to me children’s books sales are currently high because children don’t know how to pirate them, and within a generation they’ll go down because young parents will be pirating them. An interesting theory, and I’ll have to watch out for the results).

    I also really like dystopian books, although I think some authors are buying into the trend a little too quickly and skimping on their world-building!

    1. On dystopians I agree, I just finished one that was a great idea but they just didn’t try to build anything, things just were. 😦 I say YA because the themes are becoming older with each one I read so at times they seem to just be morphing back into adult.

  3. I really like the dystopian book trend too – but agree – some of the books I’ve read, while good, have been a bit weak on the “world building” aspect – not really explaining well why the world is the way it is.

  4. Something I’ve started noticing as I’ve gotten more into reading young adult is that there’s a definite push for books that aren’t really aimed at teens but true “young adults” – as in the 17-20 year old market. I think books are becoming edgier and starting to give topics that are sort of taboo more of a center stage and are written towards this age group.

    Also… slightly (majorly) jealous Dixie went to see HG! Imagine.. leaving you all by your lonesome! 🙂

Leave a comment